don't click here

Robotnik's Revenge

Discussion in 'Engineering & Reverse Engineering' started by ColinC10, Sep 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ColinC10

ColinC10

Tech Member
    Hi! I'm 23 years old and I work as a programmer. I'm been reading these boards for several years now but this is the first time I've got something that I consider worth contributing. It's a hack of Sonic 2 that I've also entered in this year's hacking contest. It must have impressed someone here because it got me to Tech Member in one post - thanks!

Robotnik's Revenge consists of one long level in which you fight all of the bosses from Sonic 1 and Sonic 2 consecutively. In Time Attack you have infinite lives to go for the fastest time you can. In Survival you have three lives and no rings to try and get as far as possible. In both modes you're given a rank based on how well you did.

Screenshots!

[​IMG]
    The title screen. Can you tell it was chucked in at the last minute?

[​IMG]
    Boss 1 of 17.

[​IMG]
    I think I've managed to get the behaviour and graphics of the Sonic 1 bosses to be accurate, but let me know if that's not the case!

[​IMG]
    Final Zone was the hardest to port by far, but I'm pleased with the results.

++Download++

Comments and suggestions are welcome!

2. Spanner

Spanner

The Tool Member
    You. Are. Just. Fucking. Awesome. :)
    I like how you did this boss zone, what I like about it as well as that the art & palletes from other levels & the S1 Eggmobile look unchanged.
    One thing I did find annoying was the Metropolis Zone boss, it seemed to be a bit harder to attack than usual.
    Anyway, fantastic work!

3. amphobius

amphobius

doing more important things with my life Member
    life
    I played this yesterday, as I was shown it on IRC. But bloody hell, it's brilliant! My only gripe is with the S1 bosses, as there seems to be incorrect bounce physics. I keep bouncing on the ball in the GHZ boss!

4. Tweaker

Tweaker