don't click here

Zone 01 : "The Mandatory Green Level"

Discussion in 'Project: Sonic Retro (Archive)' started by Retro_Stew, Nov 9, 2008.

1. roxahris

roxahris

Everyone's a hypocrite. Take my word for it. Member
    Doing anything at all
    Personally, I think we should take a look at other Sonic games.
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    As you can see, these are fairly simple; geometric patterns. The colours are simple, bright and dark, with grass on top. I'm not very good at explaining things, but...
    [​IMG]
    As you can see, this looks a lot more like Sonic 1/Sonic CD style. In comparison, however, the grass looks overly detailed. (Also, I couldn't find a clear picture of the older design, so I used the detailed one, so it doesn't look that similar.)
    [​IMG]
    Really, the grass looks more like this. Rather detailed, not to mention the random yellow lines.
    [​IMG]
    Mushroom Hill is a more simplistic style. While it's not as simple as Sonic 1/CD, it looks very close to what Rika was doing originally.
    [​IMG]
    This is very detailed. It actually doesn't seem to match the rest. In fact...
    [​IMG]
    It looks closer to Neo Green Hill Zone's ground. Much closer. There's a larger amount of detail then in the rest.(Beta picture used because the one used for the normal picture is just sand. Argh!)
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    However, it looks nothing like the designs in the other Sonic Advance games.
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    These two don't go with either. They're a group of rectangular shapes joined together. (Hill Top Zone image used because the Emerald Hill Zone one is just the corkscrew loop. Double the argh, double the annoyance!)

2. Tweaker

Tweaker

Banned
    Didn't I just say that our goal here is establish a new style, and not just mindlessly copy existing ones based on artificially-imposed limitations?

Jesus, it's like I'm talking to a fucking wall here. Why am I even trying anymore?