don't click here

This Song Sounds Like X

Discussion in 'General Sonic Discussion' started by Shadix, Aug 7, 2008.

1. Xilla

Xilla

I'm not sure where they originally came from, we were just discussing Sonic CD's use of samples and he sent me a few randoms in a zip file. Unfortunately they're on my old mothballed PC so can't access them now, but IIRC the majority of the samples were used in Quartz Quadrant and the boss music.

He came across them whilst looking for possible high quality samples of the SoR2-3 voice clips, since a number of them were actually sampled from other sources (SoR2 Jack's laugh is a sped-up Yosemite Sam!)

2. MykonosFan

MykonosFan

MODE CHANGE. Moderator
    I have no clips or musical knowledge to back this up, but there is an episode of Regular Show (in which Roger Craig Smith shows up as a character named Doug, coincidentally), and this random guy plays a harmonica with his butt (um, yeah.). It sounds really close to what's used in Rocky Ridge from Free Riders.

Is this just a common harmonica riff, or?

3. PC2

PC2

GenMobile > 3DS Member
    Various Artwork & Music, :smug:
    I was just listening to Speedbeats Grand Prix, and I noticed something familiar.

I guess this means not only are the Babylon Rogues decendants of genies and aliens, but they were born in Hidden Palace as well! :specialed:

Now if only I could slow it down to see if I could mesh them together.

4. Shoemanbundy

Shoemanbundy

Researcher
    Chicago, Illinois
    selling shoes
    Those two don't sound similar at all...

5. Blastfrog

Blastfrog

See ya starside. Member

For the 808 state video, skip to 0:17

I wonder if it's more than coincidence, seeing as though the composer for 8-bit Sonic 2 was also the composer for Sonic CD, and that in Sonic CD they lifted stuff from a lot of this kind of music.

6. Skyler

Skyler

Neonネオン Cowgirlカウガール Site Staff
    Hellafornia
    The next audtion