don't click here

How effective is using a sound chip emulator within a fangame to handle audio?

Discussion in 'Fangaming Discussion' started by Zalternative1, Sep 7, 2023.

1. Zalternative1

Zalternative1

I'm a novice programmer currently but my programming knowledge due to being a retro game enthusiast involves quite a lot of low level and assembly related stuff that in more practical coding and programming tutorials would sound just plain bizarre.

So when I discovered VGM files, I was INSANELY fascinated by the tiny memory space they consume. One day I then thought... What if I dont have to constantly use sound samples and stuff? Like y'know how for the jump sound for the Genesis Sonic games is using the sn76489 and a square channel (although not every sound effect would use a PSG chip but like how it reduces repitition).

I asked this question on the Sonic Retro discord but I was wondering if I could get some more info on this idea since one guy said that having emulators of sound chips in a fan game could put heavy strain on your device while another guy said that it would be effective (albeit possibly tedious to get done but I'm still curious regarldess) thus I've got a bit of confused and thought that unlike Discord, the forums here won't be fast moving as much.

SUPER curious on anyone's thoughts! :D

2. Lilly

Lilly

United States
    Shang Mu Architect
    It depends on what "engine" you are looking to use, in my experience.

For instance, Mega Man Maker is a great fan game made in Game Maker, which uses soundchip emulation extensively by necessity. (They have tile sets and BGs from 7+ Mega Man NES games to choose from, so OGGs for all their related songs would sincerely bloat the package.)