don't click here

Death Egg Zone Mode

Discussion in 'Engineering & Reverse Engineering' started by Dr. D'nar, Oct 2, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dr. D'nar

Dr. D'nar

I wouldn't trust me if I were you Member
    I have discovered that I am far too good at Sonic 2 for mine own health. Therefore, I return, briefly, to bring you a these codes. With the help of Regen's debugger and the very nice Sonic 2 disassembles, I managed to hack these codes together relatively easily. (Although, as a Z80 programmer, I find the 68K syntax to be backwards.) Each code is provided in both hex and Game Genie format. These are for NTSC.

Instant Death Mode
    This code makes it so you die no matter how many rings you have. Shields still protect you.
    03F894:4ef9
    03f896:0003
    03f898:f926
    9H6A-G6YY
    AS6A-GAE0
    E56A-HX62

I found these in my notes. Not sure if they're original codes.

Disable Check Points:
    01F298:4E75
    R13A-C6Y2

Disable Checkpoints for Player 1
    01F2AC:4E75
    R13A-C6ZN

Disable Checkpoints for Player 2
    01F332:4E75
    R13T-C6VW

Because I know some people would complain that the above Instant Death Mode isn't a real DEZ mode because you can still get rings, I present this code. The rings still load, and the perfect bonus still counts down, but your ring count never goes up. Shields still protect you. This code just nops out the instruction that increments the ring count.

Death Egg Zone Mode (p1):
    11FE0:0000
    11FE2:0000
    AAST-CAHA
    AAST-CAHC

DEZ Mode (p2):
    12032:0000
    12034:0000
    AATA-CABW
    AATA-CABY

If you don't want shields to protect you, just don't get them.

Incidentally, since I am a Z80 programmer I may be able to provide help with sound programming. I've thought about making a Sonic clone for the TI-83+ series (itself based on the Z80), though I don't know enough about game design to do it.

2. Billy

Billy

RIP Oderus Urungus Member
    Colorado, USA
    Indie games