don't click here

Special Stage Development

Discussion in 'Sonic 2 HD (Archive)' started by Canned Karma, Mar 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ICEknight

ICEknight

Researcher Researcher
    Or perhaps the sphere itself should be a sprite? You know, so it won't look all blocky when close up.

2. Endgame

Endgame

Formerly The Growler Member
    I was thinking more along the lines of perspective - rather than quality close-up - that might look a little awkward when they pass by.

I thought it was still called a sprite whether it's 3D or not? Since I'm not a programmer, I'm not entirely sure what the difference is.

3. Polygon Jim

Polygon Jim

Eternal Tech Member
    across town from Hinchy
    All the bitches.

Sprites are flat static images, models are 3d and can be rotated in any direction.

Well that is the difference at the basics.

4. Hamneggs

Hamneggs

Official Breakfast of S2HD Member
    TEXAS
    Networked lighting
    A quick low poly bomb made in Google Sketchup. If anyone wants it lighted and reflective tell me, cause I'd have to update my copy LightUp, a real time lighting engine and .fbx exporter for Sketchup.

I guess I should; the blue is missing.

Approx 800 triangles.
    [​IMG]

5. RedStripedShoes

RedStripedShoes

And I'm gone again. Member
    One word, people:

NURBS.

6. Elratauru

Elratauru

Little Shiny Emurralds Member
    Two Words actually: Hyper Nurbs.

7. RedStripedShoes

RedStripedShoes

I decided to have one more go at the special stage background. I think the colors are as close as they'll ever be. The only Photoshop file I had was non-HD image shaped, and I forgot to set the dimensions before making this. It's also really late and I should get to bed. So I'll post this, get the feedback from you guys tomorrow, and get a proper submission in then.

[​IMG]

8. Synergy

Synergy

UK
    ...which have to be converted to polygons at some stage ;)