don't click here

Which game recommended? [EDIT: ASM Qs in post #25]

Discussion in 'Engineering & Reverse Engineering' started by Kresjah, May 12, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kresjah

Kresjah

Norway
    Sonic 1 Levels [unnamed]
    Ok, so I've just recently started fiddling with the whole Sonic modding business. I have no experience prior experience with Assembly languages, nor do I have a proper understanding of how the engine works as a whole. What I do have however is a basic understanding of how levels work (from a purely map editor perspective, not a specifications point of view).

Now, I have a plan for a project I want to make. The aim is mainly creating an elaborate set of levels, more specifically 18-28 levels (18 standards, possibly 2 extra standard levels depending on whether they need to be seperate or can be integrated into the previous levels to work, in addition to up to 8 special stages). Some will use previously existant Sonic 1 tilesets, some will require new artwork. However, it will require some code changes for e.g. the Special Stages which should be after the end of a level if the player has reached a certain amount of rings, and the Special Stage will play out quite similarly to a normal stage (no monsters, but the possibility to walk, have normal map objects, and has a end of level spinnable sign).

The gameplay itself should closely match that of Sonic 1. That mean Sonic should only be able to do the same tricks as he could in standard Sonic 1 (run, jump, roll if he already has speed).