don't click here

What sort of level layout designer are you?

Discussion in 'General Sonic Discussion' started by UtopiaUK, Oct 27, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. UtopiaUK

UtopiaUK

Sonic 3 Resort Island
    I thought this would be an interesting thing to talk about.

I am a level layout designer who loves to start with a blank canvas. In any level I like to delete all or most of the original layout and just start from scratch letting my imagination run completely wild. I prefer this style because it allows me to get very creative with my level layouts.

So how do you like to design level layouts?

2. Varion Icaria

Varion Icaria

He's waiting.... Tech Member
    S4: Cybernetic Outbreak
    Based on what chunks I create and what theme I am going for I make sure the layout flows naturally without being too linear or too dependent on one thing. My RFZ is built for speed but also it got completely rebuilt to allow for some big obstacles and the like. just an example.

3. Tweaker

Tweaker

Banned
    The last time I designed a level—which, for the record, was a really fucking long time ago—I had wiped the tile layout and made a new layout based loosely off the positioning of the old objects. It was exactly that complex, but it was a nice way to give a fresh take on an old level. In any case, it wasn't made inherently obvious that I'd followed any specific pattern, and I did spread out to some new locations that were previously uninhabited, so it wasn't a huge deal.

Now that I think of it, though, I did make a map layout for Cinossu that he never ended up using. I thought it was cool, though—I took a Sonic CD approach and made lots of potential paths you could go to and even obtain some goodies. I don't think I have a copy of it anymore, but it was fun to play through, albeit short. I should totally do more level design.