don't click here

What HASN'T been done yet?

Discussion in 'Engineering & Reverse Engineering' started by Thom Muller, Mar 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Well, as some of you already know, I'm very new to hacking and programming, being only an avid Sonic player so far. Since I joined the community, I've been (quietly, as you may notice from may lack of posting) reading the board regularly, and playing most of the hacks. I'm also fooling around with SonED and E.S.E., trying to learn the basics.

In the process, I asked myself if there was a point in putting out a level layout-only hack. Should I spend my time with it , or should I research some more before actually working on a project?

Well, while searching the board for something about it, I stumbled upon this topic earlier today, and a doubt came to my mind: what HASN'T been done yet?

You see, cool hacks like Sonic Megamix and Sonic Extended Edition already have a lot of cool features, like the Super Peel Out and all sorts of spindashes; there are lots of carachter and music sports; the palletes have been twisted in all sorts of ways, and so have the game physics. In this scenario, I'ts not unusual to see people accusing each other of copying ideas - only to find out later it was a coincidence, or something like that.

So I ask: what's left do be done now? Do the games still offer real possibilities for implements... or building new Sonic games from scratch (like Zonic Spike's Sonic XG) is the way?

I'd like to know your opinion about this. Thanks in advance for any feedback!

2. Rika Chou

Rika Chou

Tech Member
    You can always draw new levels.

3. Dark Sonic

Dark Sonic

Working on my art!
    Combine Sonic 2 and Sonic 3 and Knuckles into one game. I had no idea wtf I was doing, perhaps you might though. GO FOR IT :D

4. Qjimbo

Qjimbo

Your friendly neighbourhood lemming. Oldbie