don't click here

This is SEGA TEST

Discussion in 'General Sega Discussion' started by TimmiT, May 15, 2016.

1. TimmiT

TimmiT

¯\_(ツ)_/¯ Member
    https://vimeo.com/166472288

Was uploaded a couple of days ago by Green Mill Filmworks, which appears to be the director's company (who also used to work as a tester at SEGA). Also found the VHS cover after a quick Google search: http://greenmillfilmworks.blogspot.nl/2016/05/this-is-sega-test-color-28-min.html

2. Black Squirrel

Black Squirrel

no reverse gear Wiki Sysop
    Northumberland, UK
    steamboat wiki
    I love the way everyone appears to hate their job.

3. Billy

Billy

RIP Oderus Urungus Member
    Colorado, USA
    Indie games
    Very interesting! I work as a software tester myself, so it's interesting to see all the analogs to the work I do daily. (Though obviously a lot less 90's) Some interesting insights into the workings at SoA here, like how they call it a "rev". Definitely reminds me of every training video I've ever seen.

Can confirm; software testing sucks the life out of you. :P

4. Black Squirrel

Black Squirrel

Northumberland, UK
    steamboat wiki
    Oh I know all too well, but I figured the whole point of a company video is to... make it look appealing

I.e. not highlight how you'll be working horrible hours and how the Pico is unpleasant.

Worryingly the fascination of bug databases and several layers of pointless oversight is something that keeps popping up at my work. As a species we're not learning anything!

5. Billy

Billy

RIP Oderus Urungus Member
    Colorado, USA
    Indie games
    Certainly the intent (they even talk about career advancement), but I would say this has the same problem every other training video has: low production values.

6. Ravenfreak

Ravenfreak

2 Edgy 4 U Tech Member
    O'Fallon Mo
    Sonic 1 Game Gear Disassembly