Sonic Hacking Contest 2016

Discussion in 'Engineering & Reverse Engineering' started by Spanner, Mar 23, 2016.

  1. SF94

    SF94

    Tech Member
    That being said, would my solo-hack (SADX Mirror Mode, since I also wrote code for SADX Character Select) potentially be rejected had the quality checks been in place? I'll avoid submitting hacks that are mostly technological showcases in the future if so.
     
  2. Spanner

    Spanner

    The Tool Member
    3,313
    118
    43
    United Kingdom
    Sonic Hacking Contest
    Just a reminder that there are STILL a few hours left to submit to the SBZ1 Mini Contest...just remember that you MUST give us the disassembly too for verification purposes as well.

    Not made a layout yet? You've still got time to whip something up quick if you put all your focus to it.
     
  3. Ravenfreak

    Ravenfreak

    Is actually a guy. Tech Member
    2,969
    109
    43
    O'Fallon Mo
    Hacking Sonic Drift, Writer at Sonic Cage Dome
    On that note, I got tired of seeing different yet very similar variations of Green Hill Zone. And most of them had similar backgrounds that clashed with the foreground. Honestly there were only a few hacks I enjoyed this year. Some hacks in my opinion, shouldn't have been allowed to be entered at all. Though I'll have to say not all the hacks were 100% bad. Most of them need a lot more work.
     
  4. rata

    rata

    Member
    600
    21
    18
    Argentina
    Trying to be useful somehow.
    Also Sonic Bash v2 is one of the polished ones. It's a really fun hack to play, the only downside is that you have to have someone to play with.
     
  5. Spanner

    Spanner

    The Tool Member
    3,313
    118
    43
    United Kingdom
    Sonic Hacking Contest
    Here is our stream lineup for Saturday and Sunday.

    Saturday:
    7pm GMT / 2pm EST / 11am PST - redhotsonic
    9pm GMT / 4pm EST / 1pm PST - MegaGWolf (please note - first hour overlaps redhotsonic's last hour)
    10pm GMT / 5pm EST / 2pm PST - Bartman3010 (please note - overlaps MegaGWolf's 2nd and 3rd hours)
    12am GMT / 7pm EST / 4pm PST - Saturday Shovelware Stream

    Sunday:
    8pm GMT / 3pm EST / 12pm PST - Live Results Show with MegaGWolf

    Remember, Saturday is the last day to get your community trophy voting in. After that, it's all over, and we will announce the results live on Sunday alongside the Judged Trophies.
     
  6. LazloPsylus

    LazloPsylus

    Buried under SSRG Somewhere Tech Member
    154
    0
    0
    Academy City
    SSRG, world domination, a billion and one research projects...
    Alright, so due to some suspicious spikes in voting, I did some queries and found something I don't like seeing. Apparently at least one entity has been making duplicate accounts and stacking votes for some community trophies. I'm going to say this once as a warning: If we find people trying to rig the community trophies, they're earning instant bans. If we see that an entry keeps getting artificially boosted by these bad votes, the entry will be disqualified. You try to fuck with a fair system, punishments will be dealt severely.
     
  7. rata

    rata

    Member
    600
    21
    18
    Argentina
    Trying to be useful somehow.
    I wonder why would someone cheat in something that doesn't worth a damn like comunity trophies. Oh, well, people is going to try to cheat on everything...
     
  8. Spanner

    Spanner

    The Tool Member
    3,313
    118
    43
    United Kingdom
    Sonic Hacking Contest
    Just a reminder that our last stream before the Results Show is tonight at 12am GMT / 7pm EST / 4pm PST.

    It's called the Saturday Shovelware Stream for a reason. If you think ANY of us were harsh during the week, you haven't seen anything yet.
     
  9. LazloPsylus

    LazloPsylus

    Buried under SSRG Somewhere Tech Member
    154
    0
    0
    Academy City
    SSRG, world domination, a billion and one research projects...
    Before some twits go and spiral things out of context, yes, the shovelware stream is going to be merciless in its criticism. However, it's going to also be constructive, because at the end of the day, the reason why an entry will be showing up on the stream is due to it not being close to the standards expected, and we want and expect better. We're very frustrated that these entries are how they are, and wouldn't be anywhere near as frustrated if we felt they actually had some care to them and actually understood why they're seen as so bad in their current state.
     
  10. redhotsonic

    redhotsonic

    Also known as RHS Tech Member
    1,587
    9
    18
    United Kingdom
    YouTuber
    Was the Shovelware stream saved at all? It doesn't seem to be under the "previously streamed" tab when I go onto Twitch.
     
  11. Spanner

    Spanner

    The Tool Member
    3,313
    118
    43
    United Kingdom
    Sonic Hacking Contest
    At 8pm GMT / 3pm EST / 12pm PST we will have the Live Results Show of the Sonic Hacking Contest 2016.

    As usual it will be on MegaGWolf's stream so join us there and find out first who the winners are. We may have a few special guests on air too alongside the judges and media team.

    After the Results Show, the results will be posted on Sonic Retro, SSRG as well as this website.
     
  12. SF94

    SF94

    Tech Member
    Same, I missed the majority of it. Apparently this is the thread where questions are ignored though, so good luck.
     
  13. redhotsonic

    redhotsonic

    Also known as RHS Tech Member
    1,587
    9
    18
    United Kingdom
    YouTuber
    I think Spanner literally uses the topic to make announcements, then buggers off again, like a top businessman =P

    Now the contest is over, maybe he'll have time to read the thread through and answer some questions....
     
  14. Spanner

    Spanner

    The Tool Member
    3,313
    118
    43
    United Kingdom
    Sonic Hacking Contest