don't click here

Sonic Construct Worlds

Discussion in 'Fangaming Discussion' started by Candescence, Oct 25, 2010.

1. Candescence

Candescence

Sydney, Australia
    3D Indie Stuff
    Construct, for those who are unaware, is a lesser-known, open-source game creator that provides a free alternative for those who don't want to fork out the cash for MMF2 and GM. In many ways, it's like the former, but its event system makes MMF2's look utterly archaic by comparison.

Though it's not very well known, and it can be somewhat buggy due to its 'beta' status, I love it to bits. I've seen some absolutely incredible things come out from its community, and, well, I tried to port Sonic Worlds over, using Damizean's original attempt at a port as a foundation.

Then I realised that a straight port was not worth it, and started from scratch using Construct's 'Custom Movement Behaviour', trying to replicate the classic Sonic physics in a different manner. I'm no expert on engine creation, though, so you know how well that went. After a ton of hard knocks, some help from one of Construct's devs who even helpfully incorporated a feature into the behaviour to make things a lot easier, and some work, well... I managed to come up with this.

[​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

As shown at SAGE 2010, Sonic Construct Worlds is now effectively its own beast, no longer a straight port of the MMF version. And it comes with two levels - the basic test level (which is highly incomplete), and the Clock Tower, a Castlevania-based level that has Sonic run in, and run out, while dodging enemies and Death along the way. The 'custom edition' has gone through multiple iterations, with this being the best so far.