don't click here

Sonic Advance Question

Discussion in 'Engineering & Reverse Engineering' started by Sleep tyrant, May 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sleep tyrant

Sleep tyrant

hello,
    im new to this.
    but straight to the point,
    I have been experimenting around with genesis sonic hacking for quiet a while (doing simple hacks, palletes, sprites, nothing worth showing).
    I read all about asm coding and just don't understand (I understand a lot of it but not how it can be applied and how people know)
    anyway that's slightly off topic,
    with my failiure to understand asm coding I decided to start a fresh.
    I have decided I want to hack sonic advance, however I do not know where to start, because I am not going to do a little pallete hack and a simple sprite change, I want to insert new characters and do other things, I just don't know where to start.

Ok I guess the real question I am asking is can somebody give me some pointers in where to start this because I cannot find a split dissassembly anywhere and I do not know how to split them myself.

all help would be appreciated and im sorry for my total turd post.

2. Skaarg

Skaarg

Welcome to the forums, Sonic Advanced hacking hasn't progressed very far yet, mainly due to lack of interest, so you won't find a dissassembly of it anywhere. To give you a bit of information there is a early level editor for Sonic Advance 1. You can even find it on this first page in the forums, but I'm in a good mood so here's a link.

http://forums.sonicretro.org/index.php?showtopic=10365

As far as other hacking goes, you're gonna have to do some reading, because I haven't seen a whole lot for advance. If you check the hacking section on the wiki. http://info.sonicretro.org/Category:Hacking_Information You can find various different information, including how palettes work on the GBA. Although there is a tool called Sonic Advance Pal Tool that will let you edit this easily.