I got a DS

Discussion in 'Technical Discussion' started by Mercury, Jul 6, 2011.

1. Mercury

Mercury

His Name Is Sonic Tech Member
    Though funds - as ever - are tight, my best friend decided to splurge a little anyway and bought me a Nintendo DS Lite that I could play during my stay in the hospital.

Now being the proud owner of the shiny new handheld system, I'm of course interested in being able to A) play hacked ROMs; B) play homebrew ROMs (I've always wanted to develop something for the DS and have a lot of touch screen ideas kicking around); and C) play "backup" ROMs :ssh:

There are devices that allow one to do this, of course, but I have no experience with anything of the sort. I did a little research at sites like <a href="http://hive.ndshb.com/index.php/component/content/article/42-general/49-nds-homebrew-terms" target="_blank">this</a>, but I figured I should ask the gurus in this community what would be the best one to get.

Ideally I'd like something more like <a href="http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=49102" target="_blank">this</a>, a standalone USB device that doesn't require any extra paraphernalia like microSD cards or readers.

So, the basic question is: does anybody have any experience with these kinds of devices or have any advice on what I should get?

Thanks! =)

2. Aerosol

Aerosol

Not here. Moderator
    Not where I want to be.
    Sonic (?): Coming summer of 2055...?
    I had a CycloDS and I loved the crap out of it. They'll set you back abour $50 though, and it also runs on microSDs.

EDIT: That said, the G6DS Real is a solid flash cart.

3. Guess Who

Guess Who

It's a miracle! Oldbie
    Oregon
    lol
    Get an Acekard 2i and a class 6 microSD card. It's got the best support and compatibility of any card. You will be in DS <strike>piracy</strike> homebrew heaven.

4. muteKi

muteKi

Fuck it Member