don't click here

Fan-made Level for sonic hacks Discussion

Discussion in 'Engineering & Reverse Engineering' started by RyanHedge, Feb 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RyanHedge

RyanHedge

Pending Member
    First I want to ask about a level I'm working and get some feed back.
    It Doesn't have a name yet I just cal RL00 for the time being. But the name CyberCity seems to suit very well. The problem I'm having is I don't know enough about level making yet. This is my first attempt at it and I'm learning fast. I would like an old pro to tell me how I'm doing and what do I need to improve. Also is considered a 8-bit game level like for the GG/MS or 16-bit one for a G/MD type game?

This is my latest Version

[​IMG]

It's still early in development but I thuoght this is the best point to get advice.

P.S.: If you want to talk about other level go right ahead. But I would realy like help on my level too.

2. Hez

Hez

Oldbie
    looks plain....makes me want to punch babies.

3. Rosiero

Rosiero

Mmph! Oldbie
    Don't mind Hez, he's always like that. :P

There's not much to base an opinion off, although here's a few pointers;
    - The ramp doesn't go into the ground entirely, which might be a bit of a problem in-game.
    - The platform's edges would probably look better if they were more curved instead of like stairs.

4. RyanHedge

RyanHedge

Pending Member
    Thanks for the Advice Thunder. Just a note the ramp is ontop of the ground for a
    reason. I'm trying to make modularized part's so all you would have to do is drag and drop the level pieces into place. This will make it easier to build the levels. At least in my opinion. But the rounding part of the platform will be worked on.

5. Eli White

Eli White

That is already how Sonic games work. Before you draw level art, you should learn how the games work. This way you can make better levels by knowing the limitations of the game.