don't click here

Crowdfunding the costs of having 'Dreamzone' and 'Dreamcast Arena' scanned

Discussion in 'General Sega Discussion' started by Lozz, Feb 26, 2023.

1. Lozz

Lozz

Hello all!

Apologies to the admins in advance if this breaches any rules or conventions - I don't think it does, but an still quite the newbie here.

In recent months I have been on a bit of a mission to document and preserve Dreamcast magazines (I.E. have them scanned and shared publicly). Well, I now have a full run of 'Dreamzone' and a near-full run of 'Dreamcast Arena' in my possession, and I am turning to the community in the hopes that we can crowdfund the £450 needed to get these things professionally scanned. I have happily paid for the mags themselves (which will be destroyed to allow for full page scanning) but am sadly not loaded enough to cover the scanning costs too.

Full details (which should answer the most common questions) and the opportunity to donate are available on my GoFundMe page: https://gofund.me/58328960

I appreciate this won't be everyone's cup of tea, and many won't have money to spare on frivolities like this, but if you are able then any and all donations would be most welcome.

I'd also be eternally grateful if the link can be shared around to any folks who may be interested.

Cheers,

Lozz

2. Black Squirrel

Black Squirrel

no reverse gear Wiki Sysop
    Northumberland, UK
    steamboat wiki
    Sorry I forgot to respond to this.

I don't know if it's an optional extra, but you shouldn't need to pay for OCR - it can be done for free (and archive.org will do it automatically IIRC). I think most use Tesseract - it's a bit of a faffy process to set up (which is why there's nothing on Retro CDN) but a lot of my recent PDF uploads have an OCR layer and it seems to be pretty good (at least for Latin scripts).

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  3. Hivebrain

Hivebrain

Administrator
    53.4N, 1.5W
    Github