don't click here

Sonic Genesis (Genesis)

Discussion in 'Engineering & Reverse Engineering' started by Xenowhirl, Dec 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Xenowhirl

Xenowhirl

Tech Member
    What would you get if you could remove the lag from Sonic Genesis (GBA) and play it on a bigger screen? I don't know, but it would be something like this. Different from Sonic 1, that's for sure, but actually quite playable. See how many changes you can spot - there are tons of them, some blatantly obvious and others very subtle. I'll post a full list of changes later if there is demand for it. This hack is not complete, but at least 80% of the necessary changes have been made.

Now, this is not my idea of an awesome hack. So what's the real point? Well, it's to give me something to toy with while I'm still new to hacking and to assembly, and it helps make the tool I'm working on less buggy the more I try putting it to actual use, no matter how simple. And maybe someone else will find the altered physics fun to play around with in a lag-free setting. Obviously I couldn't have done what I have so easily without the work of other people such as Hivebrain and Stealth and drx, among others. However, most of the additions (notably the spin dash) were coded 100% from scratch, not taken from elsewhere.

One more thing: If you're going to post about a bug, make sure it doesn't happen in Sonic Genesis (GBA), because if it does then its inclusion is intentional. And I already know some things are incomplete, like landing on steeply curved ground, which acts too much like the original Sonic 1 and sometimes conflicts with the momentum preservation.

v1 is here. v2 is here.

2. Quickman

Quickman

be attitude for gains Tech Member
    :x
    omg porjcet
    You forgot to add the random occasional controller lock which IMO was the crowning glory of S1GBA.

3. Tweaker

Tweaker

Banned