don't click here

Synthesizer used in the Sonic CD JP OST

Discussion in 'General Sonic Discussion' started by Shoemanbundy, Apr 24, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shoemanbundy

Shoemanbundy

Researcher
    Chicago, Illinois
    selling shoes
    Anyone know which synthesizer was used on Sonic CD? I'm guessing that it's a Yamaha DX7 or some popular FM synth of the 80s. I'm also wondering if the PCM audio for the past levels were programmed on the same synth or not. The sound quality seems to differ, though that probably it just due to it being generated through PCM, am I right?

I'm mostly curious as it'd be fun to mess around with the same "sound" so to speak and make more Sonic CD-ish music with one. I'm no musician though, but in any case ;)

2. Tweaker

Tweaker

Banned
    I've had the same kind of question for years! I definitely know that there has to be some kind of Yamaha hardware involved, as I've managed to obtain the exact piano sample used in several of the more electronic-centered tracks in the game. I'm absolutely in love with the bass synths used and I've been on a quest to replicate them in any possible way that I could muster. So far, I haven't had much luck, but MaliceX sure got close at one point!

If anyone with more experience with older sound hardware—and a good ear to boot—can offer any kind of insight or idea as to what Hataya used in the Sonic CD JP scores, then information would be much appreciated. The soundscape is absolutely phenomenal, and to me absolutely defines the "Sonic" feel more than any other Sonic soundtrack to date; I'd love to be able to replicate that.

3. Rockman Zero

Rockman Zero

Hello there, my little friend. Member
    Videos for Hellfire Commentaries.
    You are absolutely right. They used a Korg M1, one of the best known synths/workstations of the late 80s, for the famous "house piano." They also used a Roland D50 in the "You Can Do Anything" intro for the Japanese soundtrack.