don't click here

Sonic Colo(u)rs Ultimate released for Switch, Xbox One, PlayStation 4, and Epic Games Store

Discussion in 'General Sonic Discussion' started by MH MD, Apr 9, 2021.

1. Blue Blood

Blue Blood

I've not got Ultimate yet, but I've seen another bug in the PS/XB/PC versions that's also present when playing on Dolphin at 60fps. One of the Starlight Carnival Acts has lots of timed light dash sections, and the timer for the rings always runs out before you can finish the light dash. I always assumed that this was an issue caused by the timer counting in frames, and thus when playing via Dolphin at 60fps the timer with expire twice as fast as it did on original hardware. Could that also be the case for the non-Switch version of Ultimate? I've no technical knowledge to actually investigate or formaldehyde for myself. But it certainly seems as though the bump to 60fps has broken a few things.

I think something similar happened with the 3DS versions of Ocarina of Time and Majora's Mask; loot dropped by enemies etc is on the same frame-based timer as in the N64 originals with a lower framerate, leading to items disappearing much faster in the 3DS versions.

Last edited: Sep 10, 2021
  2. _Sidle

_Sidle

Wasn't there a patch sent out during the start of early access? Thought that was the day-1 patch.

3. Sid Starkiller

Sid Starkiller

Virginia, USA
    Paying off student loans
    Just realized while looking through the achievements: you know how there's been arguments over whether that one Chaos Emerald is supposed to be white or gray? This game officially calls it silver.

• Informative Informative x 2
    • List
  4. JaxTH

JaxTH

Pudding Deity Oldbie
    Los Angeles
    Jack shit.
    There was a patch sent out that day, yes.

5. Starduster

Starduster

Can bench press at least two Sonic the Hedgehogs Member
    Britain
    Fighting my procrastination addiction
    Nope, those ring trails are broken on Switch too. No idea what the cause could be.