don't click here

Sonic Frontiers Thread - PS4, PS5, Xbox, Switch, PC

Discussion in 'General Sonic Discussion' started by MykonosFan, May 27, 2021.

1. Ritz

Ritz

Subhedgehog Member
    Full disclosure, I basically hate video games now and I only ever play them for 3 hours before setting them down and never coming back because it's all shit I've done before

HOWEVER the buried lead here is Dying Light 2's first look also dropped today, and that's a platformer that has me bashing my head against drywall like I'm on angel dust I'm so excited. The original was my go-to example of open world design done right. I only started playing Switch games a week ago so the jury's still out on Odyssey and BotW. I've got high hopes for the former.

2. Starduster

Starduster

Can bench press at least two Sonic the Hedgehogs Member
    Britain
    Fighting my procrastination addiction
    If this leak is true, I'm very, very intrigued and cautiously optimistic.

Having played Bowser's Fury at the start of this year, I think that's a fantastic little romp that is a really brilliant showcase of open world exploration and freedom with a focus on more authored and structured content, perhaps because Mario's core abilities never really change. He's always going to have access to the same set of moves at the start of the game as he does at the end of it, so I think that ironically makes things easier to design around because you don't need to worry about sequence breaking.

Anyway, ultimately I'm excited to see something different from Sonic. I love Generations and I'm excited to play through Colours again this year, so I'm glad similar stage designs could be returning within this game (and in a manner that solves the asset problem in a contextually appropriate manner), but I've found myself feeling more and more in recent years that boost formula just isn't healthy for this franchise long term as the core gameplay paradigm.