don't click here

Nostalgia: my experience with Sonic 3

Discussion in 'General Sonic Discussion' started by flarn2006, Sep 8, 2020.

1. flarn2006

flarn2006

Like many of us, I grew up playing Sonic on the Genesis. One day, my dad brought home a copy of Sonic 3, which I didn't know existed until then. When I started playing, I was a little confused by the menu. What are all these things supposed to be, I wondered? I soon figured out that there were multiple starting zones—most of them would start me in Angel Island Zone, but one or two of them would start me in Launch Base Zone instead, which looked pretty cool. Huh, I wonder what "CLEAR" means? Oh, it just makes text appear on the screen and plays some neat music. I didn't notice the arrows, so it never occurred to me to press Up or Down—something tells me I wouldn't have had an easy time in Carnival Night Zone. ;)

I played Launch Base more than I did Angel Island, initially. Partially because Launch Base Zone looked cooler, but also because my first time playing AIZ ended with me spending a bit too long in the pool of water near the beginning. Something about the appearance of the miniboss when it first shows up also kind of looked...unsettling, in a way I can't really describe. So I wasn't too fond of playing that level.

Then one day I was messing around in the menus some more, and...well, I still didn't realize what a save system in a video game was. I was just messing around in the menu, trying to figure out what stuff did, and...well, you already know where this is going. Let's just say I experienced Dr. Robotnik's brand of destruction firsthand.