don't click here

Sonic Mania (Switch, PS4, Xbox One, PC...Netflix?)

Discussion in 'General Sonic Discussion' started by TimmiT, Jul 23, 2016.

1. Slower platforming can be done and 3&K often times does it very well. It just need to be at reasonable pace and not overly technical. You mention lack of movement options, and it's the exact reason why I consider Sonic not so nimble in terms of exploration in comparison to other platformers (I'm not counting Tails or Knuckles here, since I'm not experienced with them and I'm focusing only on Sonic). If the level design wants you to go constantly fast, then you need to navigate Sonic between various bumpers, boosters and other "obstacles" when you want to hug particular walls in search of secrets. As for the inconsistency - I wouldn't call it that. The slower parts should be used as a contrast. If you are going extremely fast in every level, then the speed as the reward devaluates with time and makes levels less distinct, even if you like it or not. For you the gimmicks are enough, to mix things up, but not for me, especially when those also are used for speed gain (or I should say - permanent level advancement).

And I kinda understand that people like this. I would attribute the easy-going fast-advancing level design as one of the factors of Mania success, since it makes levels easier to swallow and get the thrill out of it. Great for people who just wanna go fast. I prefer the healthy mix, since it makes speed parts more appreciated.

As for Extras. People complain, because it's a wasted potential. Yeah, those are bonuses, but they are so limited without good reason, that it makes people baffled.

2. XCubed

XCubed

Will Someday Own a Rent-A-Center Oldbie
    Holy shit that's hilarious!