don't click here

questions about sprites

Discussion in 'Engineering & Reverse Engineering' started by Linaru, Oct 30, 2015.

1. Linaru

Linaru

hi guys, I am a pixel artist and have started working with another individual on a sonic hack and due to palette changes decided to new character sprite sheets from scratch.

here is a couple of bits of my work in progress:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]

as I am new to hacking and still working out the quirks of mega drive pixel art I was wandering whether there was a pixel size limit to sonic's frames?
    I know all most everything is split into 8X8 tiles and the character frames shown above are a little bigger than the standard sonic sprites.

I would hate to finish spriting a full sheet complete with story related animations only to find out he's 2 pixels too tall

2. Zeoinx

Zeoinx

I don't know the measurements myself, but I will say nice job on them sprites, Pretty good detail on it for the scale.

3. MotorRoach

MotorRoach

4. Linaru

Linaru

these animation frames are my from my own WIP sprite sheet and had to be drawn from scratch to match the colour palettes we are using in the hack.

although I will admit there are some similarities, I have looked at allot of different references for drawing sonics sprite.

5. Crappy Blue

Crappy Blue

Knuckles' Chaotix is a perfect game with no flaws Member
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

There's nothing wrong with admitting you're editing someone else's sprite, dude. Unless by "from scratch" you mean you literally remade the entire sprite from scratch while using it as a pixel-for-pixel reference.

6. Sparks

Sparks

Sondro Gomez / Kyle & Lucy
    ^I feel like I'm in the days of Mystical Forest Zone again.

Also, that skin palette for Sonic is not very pleasing looking, looks too orange.

7. Linaru

Linaru