don't click here

Sonic AYII

Discussion in 'Fangaming Discussion' started by Lapper, Mar 18, 2012.

1. LockOnRommy11

LockOnRommy11

I'm not technical, so I don't know much about this sort of thing, but from what I can gather Game Maker can be a pain is the arse. It's good that you're trying though and it seems to be coming along well. I saw a remixed version of SMB3 that someone made in Game Maker, it it was very difficult to tell that it wasn't one of the special levels in the japanese GBA version. If you try hard you can get the physics to work pretty well. I hope that it stays togetehr with whatever you have planned, especially if there's any hot action, which as far as the old Sonic games go, should be okay. There was never anything too much going on, and the worst of it was the airship cutscenes in Sonic 3 & K, or the Death Egg explosion.

Last edited: Sep 6, 2021
  2. Mr Lange

Mr Lange

A wise guy eh. I know how to DEAL with wise guys. Member
    The Land of Waldos
    Sonic Utopia, Sonic Overture
    Game Maker is a custom language running in Delphi, an interpreted language, which runs all of the graphics through software. So its like slow layered on slow layered on slow. That and its ways of handling graphics are difficult to bend to your will and rely on pretty outdated ideas. There's all kinds of gimmicky limitations and if you want more powerful features you will probably have to layer more slowness on top of your already piled slow. I would really like to see a project like this in something not as craptastic as Game Maker.

3. null1024

null1024

GM's biggest limitation is speed. It is a CPU whore.

Otherwise, you can code whatever the hell you want pretty easily, and GM will happily do it, just in that asspile of layered slowness Mr Lange describes above.