don't click here

Changing Sonic CD past music tracks...

Discussion in 'Engineering & Reverse Engineering' started by PimpUigi, Aug 4, 2011.

1. PimpUigi

PimpUigi

------- Route Magician ------- Sonic CD Technician Member
    Will it ever be possible to change the past music in the Sega CD version of Sonic CD?

2. I'm no expert at all in this regard, but if I had to guess, and you were say, using an iso+mp3, surely it just depends on what mp3's are named to whatever look up song you want to be played whereever?

I'm probably thinking way to vague here. So apologies if this isn't the answer you're looking for.

3. The problem is the past tracks are not CD tracks: They're in the main game files.

4. Ritz

Ritz

Subhedgehog Member
    I was really hoping this wouldn't be a question thread.

5. MarkeyJester

MarkeyJester

Original, No substitute Resident Jester
    Japan
    The past tracks for Sonic CD are played via a series of multiple PCM samples, each PCM sample in a bank being the sound of one note to a specific instrument, drum sound or voice. These samples are played by SMPS code for an SMPS engine, however this SMPS varient is altered and designed for PCM playback of 8 PCM channels (I think it's 8, don't quote me on that).

The following banks on the disc hold; The SMPS engine (machine code), the SMPS data for the track itself, the PCM samples (including SFX samples).

SNCBNK1B.BIN
    SNCBNK3B.BIN
    SNCBNK4B.BIN
    SNCBNK5B.BIN
    SNCBNK6B.BIN
    SNCBNK7B.BIN
    SNCBNK8B.BIN

I tried editing one myself once, it didn't sound great, but it was fun to play around with, I'll dig up a download link in 10 minutes.

Edit: here we are Stardust Speedway Past. Terrible, but cool stuffs =P

6. nineko

nineko

I am the Holy Cat Tech Member
    italy