don't click here

Sonic R Hacking

Discussion in 'Engineering & Reverse Engineering' started by MainMemory, Dec 1, 2009.

1. Azookara

Azookara

yup Member
    I'm in complete support of this. Getting closer to the Sonic R models is always a good thing. :)

2. xdaniel

xdaniel

I'm still very interested as well, I just got distracted by another project again (curse you, Zelda :P)

No promises, but I'll try and get back into this here next week.

3. Aquaslash

Aquaslash

<The Has-been Legend> Moderator
    I'm very much interested, I've wanted these models for an eternity. Plus it could help open the door for possible in game model replacements in the future.

4. TheKazeblade

TheKazeblade

"Our Life is More than a Side-Effect" Member
    I have no knowledge of importing models, but... if that became possible, could later models like the ones from SADX or Unleashed be put in, or is the game still limited to the limits of the Saturn?

5. MainMemory

MainMemory

Kate the Wolf Tech Member
    SonLVL
    Unless they specifically programmed limits, it's only limited by RAM and DDraw/D3D's limits. Also, I'm trying to port obj2nj to SRMDL now.

Edit: SADX Sonic's head loads fine in SRMDL, but crashes Sonic R.

6. total

total

[​IMG]
    found some geometry parts of the level (format is slightly different however).

I have not much time for this right now, but thank you all for keeping me motivated.

7. SANiK

SANiK

Tech Member
    Looking good.

xdaniel, you reverse the Z & X for the translation and rotation, but if SEGA did reverse the X and Z, then you can expect that the original vertex data is reversed as well, but you load the vertex data as X Y Z. Though, I played around with various combinations to try to see which if any gets the model's bones lined up, but I had no luck. There was always a body part that would be off.

8. Raz

Raz

USA