don't click here

Sonic 1 Special Stage Editor

Discussion in 'Engineering & Reverse Engineering' started by Mercury, May 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mercury

Mercury

His Name Is Sonic Tech Member
    Location Location
    AeStHete
    I decided I'd like to try my hand at entering a hack in the competition this year, as I've never done so before and it seems like fun.

In the course of working on it, I realised I'd really like a Special Stage editor for Sonic 1. I couldn't find one I liked, though, so I threw together one of my own in about 3 days.

Here's the result. (see below for link)

[​IMG]

(It's got Undo and Redo, which is really useful.)

I wouldn't mind some feedback/criticism/whatever.

EDIT: Please re-download to get the updated features:

• Added in Version 1.02:
    • Solved a bug that caused saving to fail sometimes when using Enigma Compression
    • Added error message on Enigma failure (it shouldn't anymore, but just in case...)

Added in Version 1.01:
    • Added Enigma compression import/export. It really needed it. :)
    • Y'know, you're right. The obj palette should always be there. I put it on the left, though, because the window shouldn't get too tall for folks with 1024x768.
    • Added an object id display. Minor detail, but meh, I thought it might be useful.
    • Fixed a bug (after clearing the layout with "File: New", it didn't close the file. Using "File: Save" afterward would save over the file).

2. Ell678

Ell678

Am I Annoying You? Member
    Barrow, England
    Sonic Incursion
    Brilliant. I'l be editing my special stages soon, so I'l download this later tonight and give it a whirl.

3. Selbi

Selbi

The Euphonic Mess Member
    Northern Germany
    Sonic ERaZor
    What I especially like is the click-and-draw function. I never really saw that feature in any other editors (I think there's only Puto's). Definitly the BEST editor out there at the moment. =)

I have a few ideas though: