don't click here

Sonic 1 Title Screen Hacking

Discussion in 'Engineering & Reverse Engineering' started by Picu97, Jun 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Picu97

Picu97

WTF has a new meaning
    Rosario, Argentina
    Sonic Return to South Isle v.2.0
    Hi everyone!
    Some of you remember my horrible, awful Sonic 1 hack named Sonic the RANDOMhog, and because of it's criticism, I'm trying to remake it so that it is way more acceptable.
    As I'm a newbie, I don't know anything about hex editing, and I looked everywhere for a Title Screen hacking tutorial, but I didn't found anyone. I play Sonic hacks to inspire myself, and I think that those with title screen hacked are really cool. Is there a way to hack these without everything being only letters and numbers?

2. Assuming you are using a disassembly, you will have to edit the text for it in s1.asm I believe

3. Yeah, and you're probably going to have to use Tile Molester, ConTEXT, a copy of Gens+, Command Prompt with Administrative permission (for FSUTIL Utility), and a brain (because this gets technical). Editing the Title Screen is like implementing the S2 Spindash in Sonic 1, only Additional Text tiles need to be placed in the tile graphics of the title screen foreground. However, you need to merge blank data into titlefor.bin.
    Do this by going into command prompt, type in: cd, and wherever your SonED2 folder is located in quotes (I.e. "cd "C:\SonED2-1\s1h""). Next Step requires administrative priveleges. So, before I go on, are you an administrator of your computer?

4. Picu97

Picu97

WTF has a new meaning
    Rosario, Argentina
    Yeah, I'm the only one using this computer and I am the administrator