don't click here

The NEC Retro topic

Discussion in 'General Sega Discussion' started by Black Squirrel, Dec 31, 2021.

1. SupperTails66

SupperTails66

Tech Member
    This was actually the subject of a chat I happened to be in recently. I'll quote the explanation given there because I don't think anyone would object to the knowledge being shared, but do note that this is one person giving an off-the-cuff paraphrase of someone else's explanation and isn't necessarily 100% accurate:

I'm not an expert on the topic, so if you want gorier details than that, I suggest you ask on the PC Engine Software Bible forum.

For the record, the image captions on that article are:

1. "Pause during the game and input the command below."
    2. "Look, the screen's split into two. The left edge of it is cut off."
    3. "An enlargement of one of the screens. You can barely make out the message."

The main article is largely just saying the same things with more detail.

The fact that there are two screens instead of four is obviously a discrepancy, but it's possible that this specific game is doing additional manipulations with HBlank interrupts to eliminate the lower screens. I have no familiarity with it, though, so I'm afraid all I can do is speculate.

• Informative Informative x 1
    • List
  2. Overlord

Overlord

Now playable in Smash Bros Ultimate Moderator
    Long-term happiness
    I'm confused. Why would you want to render 4 screens at once? Can't you only ever see three of them?

3. BSonirachi

BSonirachi

Wiki Sysop
    So if both this and the scan are correct, then that means TurboNyma's attempt at rendering the display mode is the most accurate one then. Now I have to question why such a feature exists in some games when there really isn't any practical use for it.

4. doc eggfan

doc eggfan

Are you pondering what I'm pondering? Wiki Sysop
    ACT
    GreatMegaLD, GreatSC3k, Great SG1k

According to someone in the comments, this is based on the PC Engine

• List