don't click here

Discotek Licenses Japanese Sonic X!

Discussion in 'General Sonic Discussion' started by KingOfBunnies, Oct 25, 2022.

1. The KKM

The KKM

Welcome to the nExt level Member
    Portugal
    IDW's Sonic the Hedgehog comic books
    I imagine I've a lot more negative a view on localisation than you, but I appreciate you being aware of this historical element. Drives me nuts when people try to argue "no, localisation always existed and is super needed and without it translation would be me so sorry mechanical literal nonsense sentence" as if people just didn't translate things before the 80s, because they don't understand that localisation as a specific job is super recent and also doesn't just relate to the script but things like "make sure the dates are in the correct format for this audience in this spreadsheet program" etc

2. SuperSnoopy

SuperSnoopy

I like Sonic Advance Member
    Lyon, France
    Slice of life visual novel, coming soon...?
    I'm studying for a Japanese Language and Culture Master's degree, so my thesis is manly focused on the linguistic aspect of localisation, trying to tie it into translation studies. To be honest, my thesis is more or less finished (working on proofreading atm), but I'd love to read your stuff on the basis that's it's interesting to me, haha

Again, my mistake was probably making it look like I was 100% all for localisation when I'm actually pretty critical of the idea myself- I do realise the need for interpretation and adaptation, but stuff like completely changing a character's personality and inserting some cringey american slang in a translation always make me die a little inside, lol.
    Its origin as a purely business oriented practice is still felt nowadays, I think. The fact that it developed completely independently of translation studies is a grave mistake they're just barely getting around to fixing, but it's gonna take a while.