don't click here

Uncompressed & Unfiltered Sonic 3 & Knuckles OST project.

Discussion in 'Engineering & Reverse Engineering' started by TrooperManiac, May 8, 2022.

1. ELS

ELS

Right on time to make it an Origins mod?

2. Yuzu

Yuzu

This sounds fantastic!

3. TrooperManiac

TrooperManiac

This really isn't a bad idea.

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  4. Apparently Origins uses CRIWare audio files, but in some encrypted format; figure out how to decrypt it (A.K.A. reverse-engineer the code that encrypts it), and any editor for CRIWare audio would work.

5. TrooperManiac

TrooperManiac

It's a good thing I have 9 years experience. I'm a dev named Blah11 for UCGO Icarus Server when we had it running. "A Gundam based MMORPG".

OK I already decompiled the file and was able to extract the raw files however they SEEM proprietary at the moment. They are in .DAT format and don't have an identifiable header. What do you mean by CRIWare audio files? I don't see software for that anywhere.

*edit OK I see how they are encrypted now. Seems like we need to decode the hex key. I PROBABLY could brute force it.

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 23, 2022
  6. ELS

ELS

From what I hear, the whole game could benefit from music mods across the board.

7. TrooperManiac

TrooperManiac

Never mind I completely reverse engineered it. It wasnt hard. I THINK I can make a mod. The music files are in .HCA format.

Last edited: Jun 23, 2022

8. Breaking News:
    "Sonic Modders Mod Back in Original Sonic 3 Songs After Poor Reception to New Tracks"

9. TrooperManiac

TrooperManiac

all I need to do is figure out how to make .HCA sound files and it will be complete "MAYBE" as far as I can see thats the only thing im hung up on because I can convert back into the file type the game can read from

Just to let you all know I haven't even opened up the game yet and just heard carnival night zone..... Im full disappoint.

• Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1