don't click here

What really was the Sound Test #10 in STH2 going to be used for?

Discussion in 'General Sonic Discussion' started by Nick Gemini, Apr 21, 2019.

1. Fred

Fred

Taking a break Oldbie
    Portugal
    Sonic 3 Unlocked
    This is getting a bit off-topic, but uh no. That happens because of legacy S1 code that was never properly updated for multiple boss tracks.

2. Toasty

Toasty

BulbaSAUR! Member
    So it was set like that because the only boss you could drown fighting was in Labyrinth zone? And they tried to avoid fixing the code by having act 1 play act 2's boss music but ultimately it resumed the wrong music anyway?

Despite joining in an era where this community was a technical forum, I have no knowledge of coding or anything like that. I was always interested in learning, but I guess I was never destined to.

Would it break things if it was omitted from the sound test?

3. Linkabel

Linkabel

So, a little bit related to the topic. I saw this on Twitter about someone's teacher showing off unreleased Sonic 2 music. Or at least that's what he saying.

https://twitter.com/KSlackie/status/1123730407344758784?s=19

I guess I never considered that other people might've tried to pitch songs apart from Nakamura.

4. Chibisteven

Chibisteven

US

If it was done in a way that Sonic Adventure or Knuckles Chaotix did their sound tests using actual names of tracks instead of hexadecimal values, it be very easy to hide it from the sound test. The problem with the way Sonic 2's sound test is setup is that telling it to simply skip over number 10 ($90 internally) is that it would just as noticeable. Given Sonic 2's rushed development it was better to leave it alone than to try to hide the track, they had the rest of the game to debug and get ready to ship. At that point the game must have been feature complete very shortly after they removed the Hidden Palace that it was going through the beta or final testing phase.

5. ICEknight

ICEknight