don't click here

3D Fan game cutscenes

Discussion in 'Fangaming Discussion' started by AlphaBatt, Jan 29, 2018.

1. AlphaBatt

AlphaBatt

Anyone who's played a 3-D Sonic fan game, you know that there's no story to any of them. That's not necessarily a bad thing, but it does make one wonder why no one has tried that yet. I've seen only one fan game try that and not with the best results, but I'm glad someone tried adding in that element. I think that's due to the framework, but I'm no expert on this so I'll leave that for any aspiring developers who would know this better than I do.

2. Ritz

Ritz

Subhedgehog Member
    Didn't I see Mr. Lange mention somewhere that he plans on Sonic having a voice in Utopia? He's probably gonna do it.

For what it's worth, I remember reading some script excerpts for planned cutscenes in Ashura: Dark Reign. Some hyper edgecore stuff about Ashura electrocuting Big the Cat so bad that he foams at the mouth and explodes. Really wish they followed through with that.

3. Ell678

Ell678

Am I Annoying You? Member
    Barrow, England
    Sonic Incursion
    Well, with Sonic Incursion, I have a story, but it just isn't implemented yet. Stuff happens in the background during gameplay, so there is a plot, but the story isn't there (for anyone but me, except a few isolated cutscenes here and there). My plan was to do the major cinematics (intros, penultimate cutscenes, endings) when the gameplay was nearly done, and even then it is a monumental task. I'm not very good at animating or modelling, I can't write music, I can't voice act and I've not had much help. I end up with a lot of stuff that just looks outright shit, janky or otherwise low quality. I've restarted the intro twice already.

With a team, 3D fangames can definitely do great stories and cutscenes. It's just that few of the 3D fangames out there seem to progress very far, or are made by individual people.

4. Overlord

Overlord

Now playable in Smash Bros Ultimate Moderator