don't click here

Sonic Mania (Switch, PS4, Xbox One, PC...Netflix?)

Discussion in 'General Sonic Discussion' started by TimmiT, Jul 23, 2016.

1. Deef

Deef

The music stops playing for me roughly 4 out of 5 days. Powerups.. drowning.. if something changes the BGM there's a chance it won't come back.

Reageding the controls, honestly the command space is too crowded already. Sonic games boasted really basic controls but now it's becoming messy.
    The drop dash:
    - gets in the way of bounce control
    - gets in the way of airlift with Tails (I'm not defending the airlift here, just pointing it out)
    - disappears with shields, as the insta did
    - is delayed and unclear to use in its own right

I know people will probably get defensive about it but those 4 points are true things. The drop dash is right on the edge of "simple and intuitive"...honestly it isn't that simple. I already notice and I'm a veteran player. Go on Youtube and see people up to Hydrocity still trying to work it out.. not because it's difficult but because it's not super clean. My housemate is fairly new to Sonic games and does exactly the same thing with airlifting... accidental drop dashes.

And now people are suggesting we open a classic Sonic manual with 5 moves squashed into 1 button. Air + hold direction + hold jump + wait to land... That's way too messy.

2. Toothpick

Toothpick

I agree with you actually. I feel like having you unlock the Insta-Shield and the Super Peel-Out was a step in the right direction, but you can only use them one at a time, and only in a "no save" file. I feel a plausible solution would be to allow customizable movesets with 3&K mode being the default. I love the Drop Dash, but its inclusion with the elemental shields does make things feel a bit messy. It's not a major issue to me, but I can see how intrusive the Drop Dash can be compared to the Insta-Shield, especially with the elemental shields involved.

3. Andeh

Andeh

Derp herp. Oldbie