don't click here

Basic Questions & Answers thread

Discussion in 'Engineering & Reverse Engineering' started by Tweaker, May 29, 2008.

1. pukulan10jurus

pukulan10jurus

Pending Member
    Thanks for your kind words! They really lifted me up! ;-)

2. TheInvisibleSun

TheInvisibleSun

OVER THE TOP TECHNO-BLAST Member
    Buffalo, NY, USA
    The Water
    One option could be to just copy what Sonic 1 does for its Level Select. I did this for my own project, as it was the simplest solution that I could manage at the time. Honestly, I'm not that experienced myself (as I do not really have the time to devote to hacking in general), but I experimented and came across that as a solution even though I barely knew how to even go about making it. Now, I will say that I found it a bit limited/wonky then, because I found myself having to jump around some obstacles and issues to make it work the way I needed it to (though I will admit, due to my aforementioned inexperience, there are probably a lot of problems and inefficiencies I could have avoided).

Concerning this thread (and others), I've personally had some questions go blatantly unanswered. Though I was at first annoyed by this, it drove me to heavily research, seek out, and really learn to do what I wanted to do. As a result, I also figured out a lot more things than I didn't even intended to learn, but became useful later on.

Looking back at previous posts, it seems you've already ported the S2 Level Select to Sonic 1, so you should be familiar with how menus work, right? That's a very solid starting point, if anything.

3. Aerosol

Aerosol

Not here. Moderator
    Not where I want to be.
    Sonic (?): Coming summer of 2055...?
    This is only tangentially related to hacking, it's really a question of how the games work in a more general sense. I might have a few more questions like this too.