don't click here

Basic Questions & Answers thread

Discussion in 'Engineering & Reverse Engineering' started by Tweaker, May 29, 2008.

1. Felik

Felik

Thanks for clarification! Is there a chance someone could tell actual sizes and offsets of the character collision masks? At least the 3 main ones (Sonic/Knux main mask, Tails main mask, crouch/spindash/roll/jump) and what masks are used for Knuckles glide/slide and characters' horizontal spinning (like in the beginning of Hydrocity 1 horizontal tunnel) I'm trying to recreate original collision system in my fangame and that would be very helpful!

2. AURORA☆FIELDS

AURORA☆FIELDS

The cute one here Tech Member
    Finland
    AMPS
    The issue is how large the games are and how much they are hardcoded and placed in code. However I can help you research this and test in action for accuracy. I have some knowledge of this and have ported some code from the original game which also contains some of the mask sizes, and as well can probably track down all the changes. I can also try to make a code to display the bounds of a hitbox ingame, albeit it wont be easy task. Overall I can see if I can help somewhat

3. Felik

Felik

That'd be great! Thank you

4. Hayate

Hayate

Tech Member
    I am guessing you're trying to make an object in the middle of the object table check for collisions with other objects. If so then you're running into the exact same problem I had when I added a cutscene character object that needed to do collision the same way as the player.