don't click here

General PC Hardware Help

Discussion in 'Technical Discussion' started by Midway the Echidna, Mar 13, 2013.

1. Midway the Echidna

Midway the Echidna

Chicago, IL
    Java Arkanoid, codingcabana.net (in-progress)
    I went back a few pages on the topic list, and I couldn't help but notice the massive amount of separate PC help topics. There might be some reinvention of the wheel involved as common problems are revisited again and again. I've built 12-15 PCs for my extended family, and I'm an electrical engineer, so I can help sort of resolve most of these problems in one place.

With that said, if you need any advice or insight on the selection, installation, repair, or on troubleshooting of PC hardware, feel free to ask here; this is a good place to get questions answered if your problem doesn't quite need a big topic. I will probably do most of the help on this topic, but if you want to be the first to offer assistance, please do so.

This topic includes questions on choosing or installing...

-CPUs
    -Fans/Heatsinks*
    -Video Cards
    -Power Supplies
    -Motherboards
    -Memory
    -SSDs
    -Hard Drives
    -Monitors
    -Speakers

*If you really want to optimize heat transfer, this can get into some more advanced thermodynamics topics. My Laplace transforms are a little rusty (might not need them anyway given the limited number of options for heatsink configuration in an ATX mid-tower case), but I can be a big help in the department of moving heat efficiently (please don't read too deeply into those last 3 words). Sometimes, you will want to have more intake fans than one front-mounted intake depending on the CFM your fans can move air, and some systems might involved liquid cooling. I can solve these thermodynamic problems.