don't click here

Sandopolis Zone, Act 2: The hardest act in the game.

Discussion in 'General Sonic Discussion' started by theyogwog, Dec 12, 2012.

1. theyogwog

theyogwog

S3K Analysis
    I got to thinking about the levels in Sonic 3 last night. I ended up wondering which act is objectively the hardest of them all. I concluded it must be 9-2, aka Sandopolis Zone, Act 2, for several reasons.

[​IMG]
    1. Lack of shields. Now I'm not an expert on everything in this level and it wouldn't surprise me if there's more shields here than I'm aware of, but it does definitely seem like there's a lot fewer shields than in most acts. To be honest I only know of one, shown in the pic, near the starting point.

[​IMG]
    2. Endless loop maze (I guess there's probably a better term for this type of thing but I'm not sure). It's confusing at first until you learn the correct path. It winds down the clock, which I've often heard players talk about how this act is unusually time consuming. And in fact it is a relatively long act even if you don't get lost, several of the other zones can be completed in their entirety in the time it takes to finish the content of this one act.

[​IMG]
    3. Timed doorway switches. Again, maybe there's a better term for these than "switches", but whatever. It's a gimmick that appears frequently throughout the act. It's not much fun to interact with, and the ticking sound it makes during the countdown is loud and obnoxious, :ssh: making it pretty tedious at times to have to deal with. The fact that they're timed makes it a lot tougher too, the designers did a fairly good job ensuring that some switches really challenge players to get through the doors before they close in the time allotted.

[​IMG]