don't click here

Sega Nomad gets power from batteries but not from AC

Discussion in 'General Sega Discussion' started by Harmony Friends, Aug 14, 2012.

1. Harmony Friends

Harmony Friends

it's the whole gang Oldbie
    My friend has a Sega Nomad he is willing to sell me, but the unit doesn't seem to recieve power from an AC adaptor. However, it works fine with batteries.

I've read that the Nomad's voltage regulator getting blown is a reasonably common problem, but I don't know if that would also prevent the system from booting up with batteries.

Basically, what I'm trying to ask is that is the problem reasonably easily fixable, or would I be better off finding a nomad elsewhere and spending upwards of $30-40 more?

2. Polygon Jim

Polygon Jim

Eternal Tech Member
    across town from Hinchy
    All the bitches.
    HAVE YOU TRIED DOING A HARD RESET?

TRUST ME MAN, I'm A TECH MEMBER, AND A TECHNICIAN AT A LARGE CELLULAR COMPANY. I KNOW MY SHIT BRO.

3. He's not dead yet, Jim. Get out of the scene. =P

Hi, I have seen this problem on many portables. It gets caused by people using universal Power bricks and set the voltage too high.

There is very probably a small SMD fuse inside the machine that got blown in the process. For experienced technicians a 2-minute fix, for unexperienced people unfortunately virtually unfixable.

TmEE hs more info probably.

Cheers
    Eric

4. TmEE

TmEE

Master of OPL3-SA2/3 Tech Member
    Estonia, Rapla City
    T-04YBSC-A !
    The middle pin of DC input conector has likely come loose.

Battery goes through the DC connector too so when you can power thing on it means no component is fried. When you plug in the brick then battery gets disconnected.

5. Okay, I was wrong. Shit :P

6. gummyworm

gummyworm

if it's any consolation - that IS a very common problem :D

happened with my generic SNES power adapter - I remember the voltage being WAAAY off, poor snes didn't last 20 minutes :(