don't click here

Some changes and fixes for Sonic 2

Discussion in 'Engineering & Reverse Engineering' started by Esrael, Jun 7, 2012.

1. RetroKoH

RetroKoH

Project Sonic 8x16
    So I was going to just message RHS and ask him about this at first, then ultimately decided, YOU KNOW WHAT? I want to try to do this on my own...
    (I'm an admitted ASM noob, so while this sounds like a very simple fix to you, it feels like a great accomplishment to me. Looking back, I even realize how simple it is... but I don't give a damn. I still feel proud.[​IMG] Baby steps...)

So, today, in my first ever KoH hacking guide, I'm going to show you how to stop objects from freezing when you die! I saw this in the new Sonic CD re-release (If you haven't bought it yet, go get it you freeloaders... its well worth it!) and thought... hmm, you know, that just looks so much better than when EVERYTHING just STOPS. Let's do that!

To do this for Sonic 2, and I AM using the SVN/HG/Mercurial disassembly, search for RunObjects: You will see this.

Code (Text):
    2. ; -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    3. ; This runs the code of all the objects that are in Object_RAM
    4. ; -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    6. ; ||||||||||||||| S U B R O U T I N E |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
    8. ; sub_15F9C: ObjectsLoad:
    9. RunObjects:
    10.     tst.b    (Teleport_flag).w
    11.     bne.s    RunObjects_End    ; rts
    12.     lea    (Object_RAM).w,a0 ; a0=object
    14.     moveq    #(Dynamic_Object_RAM_End-Object_RAM)/object_size-1,d7 ; run the first $80 objects out of levels
    15.     moveq    #0,d0
    16.     cmpi.b    #GameModeID_Demo,(Game_Mode).w    ; demo mode?
    17.     beq.s    +    ; if in a level in a demo, branch
    18.     cmpi.b    #GameModeID_Level,(Game_Mode).w    ; regular level mode?
    19.     bne.s    RunObject ; if not in a level, branch to RunObject