don't click here

Basic Questions & Answers thread

Discussion in 'Engineering & Reverse Engineering' started by Tweaker, May 29, 2008.

1. Uberham

Uberham

King Of Oblivion Member
    I added a fair few :P

It's odd though, I've gone over that limit in my other stages and everything seems to be hunky-dory on those stages.....

I haven't actually :P thought I did on Chemical plant....

2. RetroKoH

RetroKoH

Project Sonic 8x16
    So... I'm having a slight dilemma. I'm gonna preface this by stating outright that I'm a hacking noob, still... I think that I at least have an idea of what I'm trying to do.

Now, I'm working on what I am codenaming "Sonic 2, REV C" One of my REVC series hacks that is really just the original games with bugfixes, enhancements, extra levels/characters... etc. Essentially it will also be a preview of sorts for what kinds of things I would like to have in Sonic Trilogy Enhanced.

One things I'm trying to do with Sonic 2 REV C is implement Hidden Palace Zone. I have the Simon Wai prototype of Sonic 2, with all of the tiles and everything intact. NOW, I am trying to copy the hex code for these tiles over to my S2 Rev C disassembly cuz I'm SURE AS HELL NOT editing all of these 8x8 tiles by hand... SO I searched for the hex offset where the HPZ art was, copied it, and inserted the code into its own .bin file in my disassembly. but I am running into a road block.

When I copy the stuff over, and reload the project file into SonEd2, the tiles look nothing like they do in the Sonic 2 beta ROM. Obviously I'm missing a step, or going about this all wrong... but the question is, what?

Any help would be grand... and appreciated. :D

3. redhotsonic

redhotsonic

Also known as RHS Tech Member
    United Kingdom
    YouTuber
    098B76? Was that where you extracted it from?