don't click here

Sonic R Hacking

Discussion in 'Engineering & Reverse Engineering' started by MainMemory, Dec 1, 2009.

1. Raz

Raz

USA
    Oh hey, thanks! Do you think I'll need to reverse each byte as I read forward, or read the whole file backwards? Or do you think the values are stored in there as they really are, in order, and structed out?

2. MainMemory

MainMemory

Kate the Wolf Tech Member
    SonLVL
    Given that I was unable to find any instances of 1.0f anywhere in sonic_h.bin, the vertices might be stored as 16.16 bit fixed point, which is what the Saturn used, since it lacked an FPU (according to SANiK's notes on the NiGHTS model format).

3. Raz

Raz

USA
  4. MainMemory

MainMemory

SonLVL
    I'm not likely to be much help with decoding the model data, but if anyone figures out enough of it I'll make a modified SADXMDL for the models.

5. Raz

Raz

USA
    MainMemory: Ooh :o

I'm not good with binary, but I'm in it for the learning experience here :) Python has some modules for handling binary so I'll see if I can get SANik's notes to work for a NiGHTS file first.. speaking of which.

Anyone have a NiGHTS model file I can use with that link?

( Repost of link: http://sadxforum.freeforums.org/sanik-s-no...ormat-t191.html )

6. Raz

Raz

USA
    Running some experiments on it, but just getting garbage data. I am seeing a big difference trying both big endian and little endian though. The garbage looks a lot more even in its randomization in big-endian, so I guess that's a start. :P I wasn't sure if there was a chance that developers converted to little endian when porting the game over to pc.

I read about a "vertex buffer" on the NIGHTS notes, that means I should expect to find a chunk of data that's 3*4byte vertex data right? Or am I gonna get chunks of structs like [vertex, whatever], [vertex, whatever] instead of [vertex, vertex, vertex, vertex]?

7. MainMemory

MainMemory

SonLVL