don't click here

Objects: How does the engine know WHEN to load them?

Discussion in 'Engineering & Reverse Engineering' started by tokumaru, Jan 19, 2008.

1. Hello guys! Because of the limited number of trial posts, I'll first give you a short description of my current project, and then I'll ask the actual question, OK?

I'm a big Sonic fan since the first game came out (not such a big fan of the newest ones, though), and 'till this day the Mega Drive/Genesis Sonic games are still my all time favorites. Since I started programming, my dream was to code a decent Sonic game from scratch.

Since I'm a big fan of the NES, I learned how to program for it a few years back. I happen to really like the idea of pushing the system to it's limits, so I just decided to code my sonic game for the NES. I wanted to do better than the pirates that exist for the NES (Somari and Jurassic Boy), because those are pure crap (the physics, more than anything). I also wanted to do better than what was done for the SMS/GG, which are nice but have a few problems, such less-than-smooth movement, repetitive graphics, small levels... I wanted the opposite of all that, becuse I really believe we can achieve more with 8-bit hardware. So the goal is to go beyond all other 8-bit games, getting as close to the 16-bit series as much as possible.