don't click here

So, um, yeah... announcing my sonic game

Discussion in 'Fangaming Discussion' started by Cooljerk, Jul 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cooljerk

Cooljerk

NotEqual Tech, Inc - VR & Game Dev Oldbie
    er, I'm not making a hack. I'm making a new sonic game.

2. Sith

Sith

The molotov bitch Member
    ...then you need to be a drawing artist, gfx artist, programmer, level designer, musician & storywriter alltogether.

Even the official Sonic games were made by a whole team.
    You can't possibly hope to reach a similar result alone.

And ripping boss programming and giving them some different sprites is not 'new'.
    Neither is inputting music that already exists in other games.

3. ChaotixTails

ChaotixTails

Custom title member Oldbie
    There is only one word that can accurately describe the "trippy" screenshot:

Trombopolous.

(I am a musician, by the way. Dunno, just sayin' is all. =P)

4. Cooljerk

Cooljerk

My minor is Graphics design. I can draw.

I can design levels well.

One of my frat brothers is majoring in composition.

And sonic games need not a story.

So, in short, this is my project. I don't need help.

That said, I plan on releasing the source when it's all done.Thanks for the offer, though.

EDIT: And, while not a knock on you, calling my game a hack, and telling me that I'm ripping off boss "programming" tells me alone that, really, you can't help.

5. Metal Man88

Metal Man88

Time Traveller Oldbie
    He can't make a similar result alone? What are those games with Knuckles and even Tails in Sonic 1 about, then?

Not to mention he's programming it by himself. If you can do that, you can EXCEED the original games. I may not know much about programming code, but isn't programming from scratch more powerful than hacking the old games?

Also, because he is doing it from scratch, it is not a hack. A hack is a modification of a ROM, this is clearly programming.