don't click here

Sonic CD's Mysterious Cut R2 Level Discussion - Post Origins Edition

Discussion in 'General Sonic Discussion' started by HEDGESMFG, Jul 12, 2022.

1. YuTwo

YuTwo

You bring up a good point with this. The past version of Wacky Workbench is in a rocky canyon where you traverse the factory while it is under construction. Quartz Quadrant and Wacky Workbench were also the only two zones not based on any of the previous zones that were in Sonic 1 so Wacky Workbench possibly could have reused some assets from R2 once it was scrapped and they were working on that zone.
    That mockup looks so beautiful. I would have loved to have seen those rainbow waterfalls used in the actual game. I'm no expert at programming but maybe it was actually tricky to implement this into the actual game and it was only left as a concept.

Speaking of which, according to @Black Squirrel the Knuckles Chaotix zone Botanic Base has rainbow waterfalls when it is at nighttime:
    https://forums.sonicretro.org/index...-of-other-knowledge.8815/page-382#post-976085
    They only provide a picture of it though. I would have much preferred seeing a video or GIF of it in action just to see how it actually looks like. I'm assuming it only cycles through one color at a time. I don't have a ROM of Chaotix at the moment and I don't really feel like going through Chaotix at all in the first place so I can't verify this right now.

2. Linkabel

Linkabel

I know this might look down upon. But would it not be a good idea to ask Eguchi what that particular area in the animation is supposed to be.

I doubt he knows why it was dropped from the game/what game during the development.

But at least he might be able to say it was ruins or whatever it was supposed to be.

3. Nik Pi

Nik Pi

Kazakhstan
    Sonic 2: Archives
    Was a great idea to make a thread about R2!
    Interesting, what the name of this level?
    We had a next fan-names:
    • Relic Ruins (most used)
    • Radical Ruins