Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: THE SonED2 thread - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 15 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
    Locked
    Locked Forum

THE SonED2 thread 2009-05-26 quickfix

#181 User is offline Overlord 

Posted 25 February 2011 - 04:38 PM

  • Substitute Meerkovo IT Chief
  • Posts: 16993
  • Joined: 12-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berkshire, England
  • Project:VGDB
  • Wiki edits:3,204
Does it support an effective viewable area higher than the last version (ie more than 640x480 or 800x600, whichever it was)? One of my 2 biggest gripes with SonED2 was a huge waste of screen space when used because maximising was effectively non-existent (sure you could fullscreen it but then it was still 640x400/800x600, just with bigger pixels).

#182 User is offline Rika Chou 

Posted 25 February 2011 - 08:52 PM

  • Posts: 5199
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Wiki edits:4
nope sad.png

#183 User is offline FraGag 

Posted 26 February 2011 - 01:36 AM

  • Posts: 659
  • Joined: 09-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Québec, Canada
  • Project:an assembler
  • Wiki edits:6
QUOTE (FraGag @ Feb 25 2011, 01:09 AM)
I modified the project files for Sonic 1 to match the structure of the svn disassembly and uploaded them on the svn. Details

I'll be doing project files for Sonic 2 tomorrow.

Aaaaand they're done! Details

One new feature in these project files is the ability to set the starting position of the player in SonED2. To be able to support that, I had to make some changes to the disassemblies to put the starting positions in separate files (1 per level). If you don't make these changes in your disassembly, you will still be using the original starting positions.

#184 User is offline theocas 

Posted 26 February 2011 - 08:16 PM

  • Posts: 346
  • Joined: 10-February 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Wiki edits:50
I'd just say this does NOT work in Wine. All I get is that "The Application SonEd.exe needs to close." Any workaround for this?

#185 User is offline Jimmy Hedgehog 

Posted 27 February 2011 - 03:23 PM

  • Posts: 1721
  • Joined: 13-December 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England - Slough
  • Project:RAoSTH (Sprite Comic), Sawnik (Still need a better name)
  • Wiki edits:2
This is probably a silly question, but how would I go about configuring a project file so I can edit Sonic 1 special stages? Will the HiveBrain disassembly work fine?
This post has been edited by Jimmy Hedgehog: 27 February 2011 - 03:23 PM

#186 User is offline FraGag 

Posted 27 February 2011 - 03:45 PM

  • Posts: 659
  • Joined: 09-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Québec, Canada
  • Project:an assembler
  • Wiki edits:6
QUOTE (Jimmy Hedgehog @ Feb 27 2011, 03:23 PM)
This is probably a silly question, but how would I go about configuring a project file so I can edit Sonic 1 special stages? Will the HiveBrain disassembly work fine?

Yes, it will work, but if you want to be able to edit the starting location, you'll have to do some work. You can grab the split starting locations from the svn disassembly (they are in startpos). If you have already modified the starting locations, then you should use an hex editor and split the file yourself (if you did that, you already know that each stage uses 4 bytes for its starting location). You can also use the new projects from the svn disassembly (in SonED2 Projects), but you'll have to edit them to specify the correct path for the palette (I.e. replace ..\palette\Special Stage.bin with ..\pallet\special.bin).

In sonic1.asm, replace this:
Syntax Highlighted Code: ASM
SS_StartLoc:	incbin	misc\sloc_ss.bin
even

with this:
Syntax Highlighted Code: ASM
SS_StartLoc:	incbin	startpos\ss1.bin
incbin startpos\ss2.bin
incbin startpos\ss3.bin
incbin startpos\ss4.bin
incbin startpos\ss5.bin
incbin startpos\ss6.bin
even
 

Then you can delete misc\sloc_ss.bin.

#187 User is offline Tamkis 

Posted 13 March 2011 - 12:52 PM

  • Posts: 116
  • Joined: 19-November 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Pennsylvania
  • Project:Megaman 2: The Robotnik Wars, Unnamed S3&K hack
  • Wiki edits:16
With the newest release of SonED2 (The Feb 2011 version), do you think that we should make and pin an official ROMulan thread (and update the 1st post of this thread with details about the latest SonED2 version)?

This is more of a ROMulan question than a SonED2 question, but, does Chaotix level editing really work? I made a simple edit to TTZ 1 (Morning) by just changing a chunk and adding a Bonus Stage ring, but after injecting the changes into the rom with ROMulan, all levels will freeze at a black screen. I am positive that I used a J/US version of Chaotix.


Edit: Nevermind, I was using the wrong rom

Moreover, why are almost all of the objects in the object editor "unknown"? Did Steatlh had the time to document each object? If I could get chaotix editing working, I myself would test each object in each zone until they work with proper mappings and action, and then document the results for everybody.


Edit: Nevermind, working on updating the object list myself

One more thing about ROMulan, why don't the other Chaotix inject files (inmain.txt, inopts.txt) don't recognize some batch commands, which were cleary documented and said to work? Those commands are "Maxsize" and "Define". Any help would be appreciated!
This post has been edited by Tamkis: 28 March 2011 - 05:29 PM

#188 User is offline Rika Chou 

Posted 16 March 2011 - 03:07 AM

  • Posts: 5199
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Wiki edits:4
I was playing with this new version a bit and I found an annoying bug that causes SonED2 to crash, making you lose all the work you did since you last saved it.

When editing blocks, hovering the mouse over a tile and pressing G to change the plane, if you have the mouse slightly outside the block box (like slightly above) and press G it will crash. I don't know if Stealth even comes here anymore, but this would personally make me want to stick with the older version of SonED2.
This post has been edited by Rika Chou: 16 March 2011 - 03:08 AM

#189 User is offline jman2050 

Posted 28 March 2011 - 05:20 PM

  • Teh Sonik Haker
  • Posts: 633
  • Joined: 10-December 05
  • Wiki edits:4
I don't know if it's clear or not but Stealth probably isn't going to read anything that's written in this topic. If there's something that needs to be asked of him or addressed in SonED2 he only really responds to stuff on his forum.

EDIT - Oh yeah right I came in here for a reason. There's a new version up that fixes a bunch of stuff mentioned in this topic that qiuu brought up.

http://stealth.hapisan.com/SonED/
This post has been edited by jman2050: 28 March 2011 - 05:28 PM

#190 User is offline Ritz 

Posted 28 March 2011 - 05:27 PM

  • Subhedgehog
  • Posts: 3957
  • Joined: 01-January 06
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Glimmering Cornhole Zone
  • Wiki edits:2
Stealth has a forum?

#191 User is offline Alriightyman 

Posted 28 March 2011 - 08:05 PM

  • !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Posts: 351
  • Joined: 27-November 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Largo, Fl
  • Project:0101001101101111011011100110100101100011 00000010: 0101001100000011 01000101011001000110100101110100011010010110111101101110
  • Wiki edits:5
So, one thing that bugged me was how in SonEd a lot of the objects were described as "unknown" or something that wasn't very useful. So, I decided to "fix" that. Attached is the s2obj.lst (in zip format) for Sonic 2. It contains more detailed descriptions of the objects, mostly taken from the disassembly. Hope this is some what useful.
I may do the same for Sonic 1 if this proves useful.

Attached File(s)

  • Attached File  s2obj.zip (11.38K)
    Number of downloads: 4


#192 User is offline SMTP 

Posted 28 March 2011 - 08:29 PM

  • Posts: 2146
  • Joined: 27-April 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ohio
  • Wiki edits:59
QUOTE (Ritz @ Mar 28 2011, 06:27 PM)
Stealth has a forum?


yes

http://stealth.hapisan.com/Forum/

#193 User is offline Irixion 

Posted 08 April 2011 - 09:12 PM

  • Posts: 1517
  • Joined: 30-December 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ontario, Canada
  • Project:Life
  • Wiki edits:152
K, so, me being someone who likes everything perfect, I decided to plop in some custom art for some of my art in my Sonic hacks, unfortunately, SonED 2 does not read these things like some level editors do. This isn't a feature request—but an idea, maybe some optional cache of some sort that has all of the art in there that can be made at intervals when the user chooses to, don't know much about programming applications, so I don't know what would be more efficient, reading from one big file, or lots of smaller ones.

Anywhoo, I'm absolutely loving this latest update to the application, I did notice there's a small delay in reaction times when switching to and from the window, but for that small tradeoff, this absolutely blew me away! A sincere thanks Stealth for listening to application users, and making it more user friendly! smile.png

(Seriously though guys, next time I vanish from the scene and a big update like this comes, tell me! D: )



Edit:

I do realize that it reads art from the .pcx file, but some it doesn't read some entries correctly, particularly HTZ's breakable ground, reads one of the colours from the wrong palette line. (As of the 1.03 version, don't know if that was fixed or not, haven't been able to read all of the new manual yet, so not hopping into the new addition yet :P)

Edit 2: Someone told me Stealth doesn't read this thread, but derp.
This post has been edited by Irixion: 08 April 2011 - 09:19 PM

#194 User is offline Cinossu 

Posted 13 April 2011 - 08:25 AM

  • inverted with love~
  • Posts: 2810
  • Joined: 21-June 04
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Project:Sonic the Hedgehog Extended Edition
  • Wiki edits:474
It's simple enough to guarantee art gets imported from a pcx.

Step 1: Make sure your artwork is using the correct palette entries. Lay it out like the actual MD palette lines.
Step 2: For duplicate palette entries, make the later ones slightly different. Push a value up or down by 1 when it shouldn't be (as long as it doesn't duplicate another, obviously). Do the same with the actual palette file used by SonED2.
Step 3: Import.
Step 4: Fix those palette entries you altered.

That's it. Not hard at all.
This post has been edited by Cinossu: 13 April 2011 - 08:25 AM

#195 User is offline Andlabs 

Posted 13 April 2011 - 09:11 PM

  • 「いっきまーす」
  • Posts: 2175
  • Joined: 11-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Writing my own MD/Genesis sound driver :D
  • Wiki edits:7,061
Random question: is it possible to have word-sized object indices going up by 4? Otherwise proper Chaotix support isn't going to happen, and I don't know how to approach him about it...

  • 15 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13
  • 14
  • 15
    Locked
    Locked Forum

2 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users