Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Sonic Forces (PC/PS4/XB1/Switch) Hacking & Resources - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 11 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Sonic Forces (PC/PS4/XB1/Switch) Hacking & Resources

#46 User is offline Covarr 

Posted 12 November 2017 - 08:57 PM

  • Sentient Cash Register
  • Posts: 4135
  • Joined: 05-February 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The desert of nowhere, USA
  • Wiki edits:1
I assume the level designs rely on Classic's crappy physics. Fixed Sonic would mean a broken game.

#47 User is offline Dissident 

Posted 12 November 2017 - 08:58 PM

  • AKA Discoid
  • Posts: 127
  • Joined: 17-July 11
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Tallahasee, Florida

View PostIrixion, on 12 November 2017 - 08:56 PM, said:

View PostTheBdude, on 12 November 2017 - 06:53 PM, said:

I remember them saying they'd put it up for licensing, but did they actually ever do it?


Why would anyone want to use HE/HE2? It's not very "good". There's plenty of other engines that are much, much better. Hell, Sonic 06's engine was pretty robust for its time.


Unleashed is quite beautiful if you're looking at it rebuilt in Generations PC as accurately as possible but... yeah, their big showcase game getting middling reviews and running like utter dogshit on console probably didn't help them lol.

#48 User is offline Master Emerald 

Posted 12 November 2017 - 09:07 PM

  • Posts: 3380
  • Joined: 14-December 07
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
  • Project:-
  • Wiki edits:22

View Posturlogic, on 12 November 2017 - 08:47 PM, said:

View PostDr. Mecha, on 12 November 2017 - 08:25 PM, said:

So there's no way to Fix Classic Sonic?

Well, nobody fixed him in Generations. I don't see why anyone would want to fix him in Forces.


They actually got close.

#49 User is offline Dr. Mecha 

Posted 12 November 2017 - 09:50 PM

  • Posts: 1039
  • Joined: 24-February 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dallas, TX
  • Project:3d Models
Look, seeing that this build off of the Lost world's engine, I would love to see at least the gravity getting a makeover; It's like you're controlling Heavy the Mechanic.

#50 User is offline Radfordhound 

Posted 13 November 2017 - 04:07 AM

  • I dislike my profile picture more every day
  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 23-November 15
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Sonic Adventure Remastered, HedgeLib, and Forces Modding.
So I cracked the set data format (with the exception of object rotation).
It's VERY similar to the SOBJ stuff from LW and Colors, but it has a lot of changes that honestly make no sense in my opinion.

For one thing they, for some reason, went back to using names for each object in addition to the object type and ID, just like what '06 does.
(So if you have 5 rings, you have an object called "ObjRing01", "ObjRing02", "ObjRing03", etc.)

Beyond this, I don't seem to see any form of the MultiSetTransform stuff from SU/Colors/Gens/LW? As a result, this means that, for example, 15 rings in a row must be defined via 15 completely separate ring objects all of which contain the exact same parameters, therefore wasting tons of space by unnecessarily repeating data throughout the file.

The other negative just comes from the fact that we'll have to create templates for Forces sets just like we had to with Colors and LW, as the type-specific parameters are hard-coded.
But yeah other than ALL of this, set data wooooo

Spoiler


Here's the source I wrote to read/write Forces sets, and here's the templates I've written so far (HUGE WIP). If anyone's interested, feel free to screw around with it! I'm planning on incorporating this into HedgeEdit (my WIP sonic level editor) once I get more templates made and get the rotation stuff figured out. But for now at least you can read/write sets via calling this.

Huge thanks to SuperSonic16 for cracking some of post-BINA header and sharing it with me (which kick-started the effort to crack the sets).
This post has been edited by Radfordhound: 13 November 2017 - 04:40 AM

#51 User is offline Dario FF 

Posted 13 November 2017 - 05:38 AM

  • Tech Support Hotline
  • Posts: 1056
  • Joined: 03-April 10
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mar del Plata, Argentina
  • Project:SonicGLvl

View PostRadfordhound, on 13 November 2017 - 04:07 AM, said:

So I cracked the set data format (with the exception of object rotation).
It's VERY similar to the SOBJ stuff from LW and Colors, but it has a lot of changes that honestly make no sense in my opinion.

As if that was anything but par for the course. :v:

Nice work on the sets BTW. If we're lucky we could find the debug information like Aruki did for Lost World on one of the other version's executables, making the creation of those templates much easier.

#52 User is offline Windii 

Posted 15 November 2017 - 03:40 AM

  • 朴念仁のエッグマン
  • Posts: 128
  • Joined: 19-February 17
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Eggmanland

View PostSlash, on 12 November 2017 - 06:27 PM, said:

View PostWindii, on 08 November 2017 - 10:14 AM, said:

View PostSlash, on 07 November 2017 - 09:17 PM, said:

Ask and you shall receive, VGMToolbox-1045. I don't have the game files with me yet but I got someone else to test for me and it worked for them. Apparently the only issue is that the names get applied to the wrong files. Also a note to those who want to compile it manually, switch the compile settings to x86. For some reason, Any CPU doesn't work.

Oh man, it does seem to work now. This is amazing. I'm not currently sure if the file names are actually correct for each audio file, but I'm too happy at this point to get too deep into it. I hope snakemeat updates the tool soon.

Also, if the updated pac format is figured out, I hope there will be a way to make mods that remove the HUD, subtitles and that widescreen cropping overlay thing that's put on cutscenes, whatever that may be. The game's cinematics (+ pre-rendered stuff) are actually fully 1920x1080 but are cropped to 1920x936 in-game for some reason. It's minor stuff, I know, but it'll still help maintain quality and consistency for videos I plan to make. And everybody likes HUDless gameplay.


It's actually just a simple memory edit, add "Sonic Forces.exe"+20B3688 as 4 Byte in Cheat Engine and set it to 0 and make sure to make it active. However, it does sometimes appear, so I recommend pressing F6, right clicking the value that appears in the box when doing certain actions, and NOP the address. This should permanently disable the HUD for that current launch. HedgeModManager does have a code loader for Sonic Forces and it does come with a No HUD code, so you can just easily do that as well. Be aware that this also disables the HUD for the menus, basically making you blind for those portions only.


Oh, dang. Now I wish you would tell me that before I uploaded my Sonic Forces vid. Thanks, though. This is really cool. I previously tried using Cheat Engine in hopes to remove subtitles from the Riders games' cutscenes, but I got nothing. Even if I can remove the text, those gray textboxes just won't go away. They are definitely not textures, that's for sure.

EDIT: Cheat Engine doesn't seem to like that address, saying it's invalid. Weird. Do you think you could make a table? This could prove really useful.
This post has been edited by Windii: 15 November 2017 - 11:28 AM

#53 User is offline Slash 

Posted 16 November 2017 - 07:24 PM

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: 04-September 17
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:California, USA

View PostWindii, on 15 November 2017 - 03:40 AM, said:

EDIT: Cheat Engine doesn't seem to like that address, saying it's invalid. Weird. Do you think you could make a table? This could prove really useful.

Here you go. Just set the HUD Width Scale to 0 and set it to Active. It should work. You can also change the aspect ratio if you want, since it's simply a float, just divide width by height of the current game size (2560/1080 for 1080p/2160p UW).

Edit: Oh yeah, game accepts Generations model format, just like Lost World. Here's Generations model with several bones renamed to work with Forces, UVs haven't been modified yet to work with the current limitations of PAC repacking.
Spoiler


Edit 2: Updated the cheat table for the latest version of the game.
This post has been edited by Slash: 24 November 2017 - 03:35 PM

#54 User is offline Windii 

Posted 17 November 2017 - 11:19 AM

  • 朴念仁のエッグマン
  • Posts: 128
  • Joined: 19-February 17
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Eggmanland

View PostSlash, on 16 November 2017 - 07:24 PM, said:

View PostWindii, on 15 November 2017 - 03:40 AM, said:

EDIT: Cheat Engine doesn't seem to like that address, saying it's invalid. Weird. Do you think you could make a table? This could prove really useful.

Here you go. Just set the HUD Width Scale to 0 and set it to Active. It should work. You can also change the aspect ratio if you want, since it's simply a float, just divide width by height of the current game size (2560/1080 for 1080p/2160p UW).

EDIT: Oh yeah, game accepts Generations model format, just like Lost World. Here's Generations model with several bones renamed to work with Forces, UVs haven't been modified yet to work with the current limitations of PAC repacking.

Oh! Yeah, that definitely works. Thanks a ton!! It definitely makes recording a little easier because I can pick the stage/cutscene I need beforehand. Only problem is that it seems to remove all fade-outs as well, so you get stuff like this sometimes. It's nothing that some video editing can't fix, though.
Spoiler

Now I just wish I knew games like Shadow/Black Knight well enough to completely remove HUD from those, as well as the text box in Zero Gravity.

#55 User is offline urlogic 

Posted 17 November 2017 - 11:49 PM

  • Posts: 72
  • Joined: 06-January 16
  • Gender:Male
Are people actually that into hacking Forces? Lost World mods could have made that game wildly better since it barely used the parkour system in it's regular levels. But the modding scene for LW was pretty much dead on arrival.
This post has been edited by urlogic: 18 November 2017 - 12:05 AM

#56 User is offline RikohZX 

Posted 18 November 2017 - 12:50 AM

  • Posts: 338
  • Joined: 18-March 17
  • Gender:Male

View Posturlogic, on 17 November 2017 - 11:49 PM, said:

Are people actually that into hacking Forces? Lost World mods could have made that game wildly better since it barely used the parkour system in it's regular levels. But the modding scene for LW was pretty much dead on arrival.
Mostly because almost every facet of Lost World was hardcoded into the executable; you could do new levels and model/animation/sound swaps, but nothing much beyond that without going to extensive pains to literally hack the program.
Folks are trying right now to figure out if Forces is much the same, which could be a death kneel for it.

#57 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 18 November 2017 - 01:08 AM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4133
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
Stuff being hardcoded hasn't stopped people from modding SADX, SA2, S&KC, Heroes, Mania, Sonic R, or for that matter any of the classic games that this community was built on. It requires a different approach, and a different set of skills, but it's still possible that something could be made out of Forces no matter how much of it is hardcoded. Of course, if you do have to go digging into the game's code to accomplish things, updates will quickly throw a wrench into that.

For my part, I don't even have the game yet (lack of funds), and I haven't really tried disassembling/decompiling a modern game written in C++ with all the Lua scripting and physics engines and such.

#58 User is offline Chimpo 

Posted 18 November 2017 - 01:18 AM

  • Posts: 7295
  • Joined: 26-July 06
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:Atomic Sonic Part II
If lack of funds is stopping anyone from touching the game, then I do not mind throwing 40 dollars into the fire just for the attempt.
This post has been edited by Chimpo: 18 November 2017 - 07:31 AM

#59 User is offline Lanzer 

Posted 19 November 2017 - 12:10 AM

  • The saber calls for its master...
  • Posts: 6815
  • Joined: 27-February 09
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Glendale, AZ
  • Project:Doing Stuff.
  • Wiki edits:1
Same here, Give us a paypal and I'm sure some of us will be happy to donate for hacking research.

#60 User is offline Windii 

Posted 20 November 2017 - 03:21 PM

  • 朴念仁のエッグマン
  • Posts: 128
  • Joined: 19-February 17
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Eggmanland
It seems that this game's text files--which are cnvrs-text files inside the .pac archives--seem to work the same way as most of the .fnt files in Shadow the Hedgehog do. That is, non-Japanese text files appear just fine when viewed in Notepad/Notepad++/HxD and whatnot (despite being separated by null spaces between every letter, no pun intended), but Japanese appears to be completely garbled. This also happens to Korean and Chinese languages in Forces.
Posted Image
That screenshot is taken from HxD and I did try to convert the hex numbers to Shift-JIS, but they still came out garbled. So whatever the text is encoded in, it's definitely not Shift-JIS. My head hurts trying to figure this out. :psyduck:

I'm mentioning this because the Japanese text could have some really neat hidden stuff that the English text may have glossed over and I like translating it. Not to mention this may save me hours of playing each stage just to capture every single spoken line. If anyone happens to know anything about how wacky Japanese character encoding works, that would be absolutely amazing. This could also potentially save me from playing every single stage in Shadow the Hedgehog too.

  • 11 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users