Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Sonic 1: Enigma Credits - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Sonic 1: Enigma Credits Does anyone haz dem fielz?

#1 User is offline Shadow Fire 

Posted 31 August 2015 - 12:01 PM

  • Ultimate victory!
  • Posts: 1557
  • Joined: 05-February 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Land of Darkness
  • Project:Sonic: The Lost Land (Series), The GCN (site)
  • Wiki edits:60
So, I got back into working on my Sonic hack, and came across the guide on the Retro wiki pertaining to Enigma Credits. However, I've noticed that the files that were provided both had broken links. Seriously, Easy Share? lol

Anyway, I was wondering if anybody had the files that were there before the links died?

#2 User is offline Shadow Fire 

Posted 24 January 2016 - 06:59 PM

  • Ultimate victory!
  • Posts: 1557
  • Joined: 05-February 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Land of Darkness
  • Project:Sonic: The Lost Land (Series), The GCN (site)
  • Wiki edits:60
Thanks to someone (who oddly doesn't have a Retro account), I was able to come across the files. I've begun using them, but I've come across a little bug. The first two screens show perfectly fine, but the 3rd and 4th screens show this:

Posted Image

Posted Image

Only the left side of the X and the bottom of the Y are showing, despite them both being there in the art/mappings file, as shown in PlaneED.

Posted Image

Posted Image

#3 User is offline Clownacy 

Posted 24 January 2016 - 07:58 PM

  • Posts: 739
  • Joined: 06-July 13
  • Gender:Not Telling
So... any chance of a link, or did you already upload it to the wiki?

#4 User is offline Shadow Fire 

Posted 24 January 2016 - 08:41 PM

  • Ultimate victory!
  • Posts: 1557
  • Joined: 05-February 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Land of Darkness
  • Project:Sonic: The Lost Land (Series), The GCN (site)
  • Wiki edits:60
I knew there was something I was forgetting. I'll get it uploaded.

Uploaded. :3
This post has been edited by Shadow Fire: 24 January 2016 - 09:01 PM

#5 User is offline Clownacy 

Posted 25 January 2016 - 01:31 PM

  • Posts: 739
  • Joined: 06-July 13
  • Gender:Not Telling
Eww

		cmpi.w	#0,($FFFFFFF4).w ; is credit id = 0?
		bne.s	EniCred1	 ; if not, branch
		lea	(EniCred_0).l,a0 ; load credits enigma mappings
EniCred1:
		cmpi.w	#1,($FFFFFFF4).w ; is credit id = 1?
		bne.s	EniCred2	 ; if not, branch
		lea	(EniCred_1).l,a0 ; load credits enigma mappings
EniCred2:


This code's a bit of a mess. You can remove all that junk just by using an array. This seems to work well enough.

About your bug, is there any chance those missing tiles are using the wrong palette line? PlaneEd and your hack seem to be using different palettes. S1's usually only has the one line, maybe yours spans all four.

#6 User is offline Shadow Fire 

Posted 25 January 2016 - 02:23 PM

  • Ultimate victory!
  • Posts: 1557
  • Joined: 05-February 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Land of Darkness
  • Project:Sonic: The Lost Land (Series), The GCN (site)
  • Wiki edits:60

View PostClownacy, on 25 January 2016 - 01:31 PM, said:

About your bug, is there any chance those missing tiles are using the wrong palette line? PlaneEd and your hack seem to be using different palettes. S1's usually only has the one line, maybe yours spans all four.

I double checked, but they seem to be using the appropriate palette. As it happens, if I place the left side of the x on the right and flip it horizontally, it loads in the credits. Not sure why there's an issue with it.

#7 User is offline MarkeyJester 

Posted 25 January 2016 - 03:00 PM

  • It's Saturday TV Toons!! (90's Style)
  • Posts: 1860
  • Joined: 22-July 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Japan
  • Wiki edits:16
I've noticed that both the X and the Y are missing, these letters happen to be right after byte C00 in you art list there. You have no other letter art showing on that screen that's after that point except the X and the Y, and those are the two that are screwing up. It would be a stretch, but I'd say that the art once loaded to VRAM, is being overwritten at it's C00 point (relative to wherever you loaded to art in VRAM), I'd suggest relocating the art in VRAM to another location, and seeing if that is indeed the reason.

The only other reason I can think of, is the art isn't being saved correctly by PlaneEd, I'd doubt that mind, but you never know.

EDIT: MainMemory ruins my fun again~
This post has been edited by MarkeyJester: 25 January 2016 - 05:37 PM

#8 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 25 January 2016 - 03:57 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4214
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
PlaneEd doesn't edit art, just mappings.

#9 User is offline Shadow Fire 

Posted 28 January 2016 - 08:26 AM

  • Ultimate victory!
  • Posts: 1557
  • Joined: 05-February 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Land of Darkness
  • Project:Sonic: The Lost Land (Series), The GCN (site)
  • Wiki edits:60
This is what I see during the credits when accessing the VDP feature.

Posted Image

As you can see, some of the art after C00 is indeed missing, or messed up.

UPDATE: I have an idea as to what's causing it. The level art loaded during the demo may be having an adverse effect on it, since when I check the VDP during the intro (SONIC TEAM PRESENTS), all the art is loaded correctly (although I haven't got the screen mapped out properly... still trying to figure out how to work that into the game similar to the EniCreds way). I was thinking of just removing the ending demo altogether, and just have credits playing.
This post has been edited by Shadow Fire: 28 January 2016 - 08:51 AM

#10 User is offline redhotsonic 

Posted 28 January 2016 - 09:05 AM

  • Also known as RHS
  • Posts: 1584
  • Joined: 31-January 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Project:Sonic Bash!
  • Wiki edits:24
So it loads up fine but then something else over-writes it. So, after the 2nd screen, obviously something is being loaded that over-writes part of the HUD. Anything that you can find there that may be causing the issue? Try commenting it out if you do and jsut test to see if it helps. If it does, we have then found the issue.

EDIT: Actually, I just noticed that it only seems to be X and Y that are screwed up (I should have read everyone's post before jumping in) and indeed it's from C000 causing the issue. So you just need to find out what's being loaded in at C000 and (re)move it (or as MJ said, move your art. You can move it from B400 to B200 and edit the mappings accordingly [unless you need to use them animals?].).
This post has been edited by redhotsonic: 28 January 2016 - 09:09 AM

#11 User is offline Shadow Fire 

Posted 05 February 2016 - 04:13 PM

  • Ultimate victory!
  • Posts: 1557
  • Joined: 05-February 05
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Land of Darkness
  • Project:Sonic: The Lost Land (Series), The GCN (site)
  • Wiki edits:60
So, with help from redhotsonic, the credits now load fine. I simply moved their position in VRAM to where the animals would be loaded. I also had to make some minor adjustments to the PlaneED project files, which meant that I had to remap them, but that was a small price to pay.

#12 User is offline Clownacy 

Posted 05 February 2016 - 06:19 PM

  • Posts: 739
  • Joined: 06-July 13
  • Gender:Not Telling
Oh. It might have been ClearScreen, which clears $C000 and $E000. They're usually used for defining which tiles are displayed on the FG/BG, not VRAM art.

Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users