Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: SA2/SADX Mod Loader - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
  • 16 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

SA2/SADX Mod Loader I am the best at names

#61 User is offline Trunks 

Posted 08 January 2014 - 09:31 PM

  • AGAIN TRY
  • Posts: 1412
  • Joined: 20-February 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Antonio, TX
  • Project:The Bancast, Lone Stars, LOVE
  • Wiki edits:30
Yeah, didn't give me any warning.

#62 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 08 January 2014 - 09:39 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4144
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
So, you copied the files from 7z into your SADX folder, including the SADXModManager.exe file and the mods folder with SADXModLoader.dll, you ran the manager, clicked the "Install loader" button so that it now says "Uninstall loader", checked the "Disable CD Check" box, clicked the "Save and Play" button, and the game starts up without the mod loader showing an error message, and it then asks you to insert disc 2 as if nothing happened?

#63 User is offline Trunks 

Posted 09 January 2014 - 12:25 AM

  • AGAIN TRY
  • Posts: 1412
  • Joined: 20-February 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Antonio, TX
  • Project:The Bancast, Lone Stars, LOVE
  • Wiki edits:30
Yep. Guess I'm going to have to track down an American copy. Oh well.

#64 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 09 January 2014 - 12:38 AM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4144
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
I swear I checked the European cracked version and it showed the error message for me. Well either way, you can get the US sonic.exe file from my website, and it should work as a drop-in replacement for whatever sonic.exe you have.

#65 User is offline Trunks 

Posted 09 January 2014 - 09:30 PM

  • AGAIN TRY
  • Posts: 1412
  • Joined: 20-February 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:San Antonio, TX
  • Project:The Bancast, Lone Stars, LOVE
  • Wiki edits:30
That worked flawlessly, thank you. Is there any way to implement the 360 Controller fix as well? And I'm curious, how does the Mod Manager modify the draw distance / fog? Is it possible to maybe extend it even further and be able to see more of the level at once?

#66 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 09 January 2014 - 10:09 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4144
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
You can use the patcher on my website to apply the X360 controller fix to the exe directly, it won't conflict with the mod loader. If by draw distance and fog you're referring to the items in the configuration editor, that is just providing an interface for editing the settings that autorun.exe already allowed you to change.

The main problem with draw distance is that the current draw distance settings are relatively close to where the skybox is anyway, so even if you expand it, you'd have to edit the skyboxes for all the levels as well.

#67 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 10 January 2014 - 10:31 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4144
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
SADX Mod Manager update:
Posted Image

Because of this, the configuration editor requires the DirectX runtime.

Edit: SADX Mod Loader update, now the SADX window has a proper icon if you don't check "Don't fix window" in the manager.
This post has been edited by MainMemory: 11 January 2014 - 07:13 PM

#68 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 14 January 2014 - 08:27 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4144
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
SA2 Mod Loader update, now each CodeLine can contain a RepeatCount element, allowing the same operation to be performed on multiple items in a row, as in the size changing codes.
There are also several new code types:
  • add - adds a value to the value at the address
  • sub - subtracts a value from the value at the address
  • mul (signed/unsigned) - multiplies the value at the address by a value
  • div (signed/unsigned) - divides the value at the address by a value
  • mod (signed/unsigned) - takes the remainder of dividing the value at the address by a value
  • shl - shifts the value at the address left a number of times
  • shr (signed/unsigned) - shifts the value at the address right a number of times
  • rol - rotates the value at the address left a number of times
  • ror - rotates the value at the address right a number of times


The mul and div code types in particular have allowed for two new codes that increase and decrease your size as you hold directions on the D-Pad.
This post has been edited by MainMemory: 14 January 2014 - 08:28 PM

#69 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 06 February 2014 - 08:54 AM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4144
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
SA2 Mod Manager update, now saving the code xml doesn't put enabled="false" on disabled codes or add <FalseLines /> on if* type codes, and I fixed a bug for pointer-type addresses without any offsets specified.

The SADX Mod Manager and Loader have also been updated to add support for cheat codes. I may have to change where they execute from, because the place I picked doesn't seem to run until the intro video.

#70 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 13 February 2014 - 12:37 AM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4144
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
Since my most recent mod reminded me that it existed, I've updated the SADX Mod Loader to display debug messages onscreen if the console is disabled and debug messages are enabled.
Posted Image

#71 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 20 February 2014 - 11:10 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4144
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
I've now rearranged the "Show Console Window" and "Show SADX Debug Output" options so that no distinction is made between messages outputted by the loader and SADX, and I've made three output options, all of which can be toggled separately: Console displays a console window, Screen prints messages to the screen (as seen in the post above), and File writes messages to mods\SADXModLoader.log. You may need a text editor that supports Shift-JIS if you want to view the log file properly; unfortunately neither the console nor screen output support Shift-JIS. Now uses UTF-8, no special steps necessary.
This post has been edited by MainMemory: 21 February 2014 - 12:25 AM

#72 User is offline Pexs 

Posted 21 February 2014 - 12:18 AM

  • Posts: 130
  • Joined: 01-February 12
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Around here somewhere.
I know not many people post in here, but we're all watching. Keep up the good work!

#73 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 21 February 2014 - 12:22 AM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4144
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
Since you've interjected, I'll take this opportunity to say that I've updated the file output to use UTF-8, so now it should Just Work™ with any text editor.

#74 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 23 February 2014 - 05:46 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4144
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
The SA2 Mod Loader has now been updated to have console and file output options. Screen output is not available, as it appears that the screen printing function was completely removed from this build of SA2.

#75 User is offline MainMemory 

Posted 12 April 2014 - 11:31 PM

  • Every day's the same old thing... Same place, different day...
  • Posts: 4144
  • Joined: 14-August 09
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Project:SonLVL
  • Wiki edits:1,339
There's a new version of the SADX mod loader that initializes mods after all of the DLLs are loaded, which means that mods can modify the data in the DLLs in their Init function.

And related to that, SA Tools has been updated with two new tools just for DLL files.

splitDLL is like the regular split tool, except instead of listing addresses in the INI file, it uses the names in the DLL's export table to find data. It's designed to export items from arrays using their index as filenames, and it detects when a model is part of another model that was previously exported, like splitMDL.

DLLModGenerator is akin to the StructConverter tool, but instead of using the pointer list in the ModInfo struct, it generates an Init function. You will not be able to replace the data in SADXPC's Mystic Ruins Chao Garden with this tool, because the DLLs are loaded on-demand when you enter the garden.

With this, it should now be possible to perform level edits to the adventure fields, although you will have to fix up the texture list pointers manually.

  • 16 Pages +
  • ◄ First
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • Last ►
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users