Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board: Laseractive + Line dubbler - Sonic and Sega Retro Message Board

Jump to content

Hey there, Guest!  (Log In · Register) Help
Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

Laseractive + Line dubbler

#1 User is offline doc eggfan 

Posted 05 May 2012 - 07:43 AM

  • The Witness of History
  • Posts: 8000
  • Joined: 19-May 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:GreatMegaLD, GreatSC3k, Great SG1k
  • Wiki edits:2
An interesting phenomenon occurs when I use my line dubbler with my laseractive. It works fine with laserdisc movies and the laseractive menu, but when I play mega drive or mega cd games, I get flickering pink bands, like the image isn't synced up right. Just wondering if anyone knows what causes it?

#2 User is offline LocalH 

Posted 05 May 2012 - 11:49 AM

  • roxoring your soxors
  • Posts: 3122
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:wouldn't you like to know
  • Project:MDEM - Genesis programming stufz
  • Wiki edits:3
Possibly the fact that like all earlier gaming devices and home computers, the MD doesn't output exactly to NTSC or PAL specs. Some devices can handle that, others choke on it.

This isn't too cheap, but if you can acquire a TBC (time-base corrector) and run anything classic through it first and then into the line doubler, you shouldn't have this type of issue.

#3 User is offline doc eggfan 

Posted 05 May 2012 - 05:40 PM

  • The Witness of History
  • Posts: 8000
  • Joined: 19-May 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:GreatMegaLD, GreatSC3k, Great SG1k
  • Wiki edits:2
ok cool, thought it must be something obvious.

#4 User is offline TmEE 

Posted 06 May 2012 - 06:03 AM

  • Hot music ~~~~
  • Posts: 1713
  • Joined: 06-January 08
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Estonia, Rapla City
  • Project:Big Neighbor Disturber, Laser Raster Scan Projector
  • Wiki edits:11
TBC also kills macrovision crap which can upset such display devices also

#5 User is offline Miles Prower 

Posted 06 May 2012 - 06:59 AM

  • Renard
  • Posts: 641
  • Joined: 25-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Project:HRA
  • Wiki edits:1
But wouldn't it induce too much lag to use for gaming?

#6 User is offline LocalH 

Posted 06 May 2012 - 04:30 PM

  • roxoring your soxors
  • Posts: 3122
  • Joined: 11-January 03
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:wouldn't you like to know
  • Project:MDEM - Genesis programming stufz
  • Wiki edits:3
TBCs don't generally introduce any appreciable delay, reason being that they were used in professional environments where signals have to be timed with each other within a few nanoseconds. For the record, on the Amiga, a hi-res screenmode has 70ns pixels, and lo-res (which would be really close to an MD pixel in H40 mode) has 140ns pixels. I'd bet money that his line doubler adds more lag than a TBC would.
This post has been edited by LocalH: 06 May 2012 - 04:30 PM

Page 1 of 1
    Locked
    Locked Forum

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users